Starting a Massage Therapy School in Nevada, the requirements for massage therapy practice and education are overseen by the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy.
If you want to open a private massage therapy school in Nevada.
The board will recognize your program if you have a program of at least 500 hours and are approved by the Commission on Postsecondary Education.
Obtaining Approval from the Commission on Postsecondary Education (CPE)
In order to obtain a license from the Commission, you will attend a CPE workshop.
Then you will have to fill out an application and send in the required information.
The application must receive at least 60 days before a Commission meeting.
You do not have to submit information on your facility and staff, or a bond until the application has been approved.
That information must be submitted within 6 months of approval or your approval will withdraw and you will have to reapply.
Information and documentation you will have to provide with your application:
- Private postsecondary educational institution bond (can be deferred until after approval);
- Budget estimate;
- Release for substantiation of financial data;
- Financial investor identification;
- Curriculum information;
- Program description;
- Information on director, academic director, and instructors (can defer until after approval);
- Background investigations;
- Attachments and certifications;
- Catalog checklist and a copy of your catalogue;
- A copy of your enrollment agreement;
- Reviewed or audited financial statement signed by a certified public accountant within 12 months of the application submission;
- $2,000 non-refundable application fee.
MIST – Starting a Massage Therapy School in Nevada
Within 10 days of receipt of your application, you will get a response from Commission staff letting you know if anything needs to correct.
You will also be notified of the bond amount that will recommend to the Commission.
The bond amount will determine the number of projected students, your tuition, your term length, and your financial statement.
Before your application review by the CPE, it will submit to a subject-matter expert for approval of your curriculum.
The cost of the review is $400-$600, and you will be responsible for that cost.
Once all issues resolve, you will ask to make and submit 10 copies of certain documents.
Massage Therapy Schools
There are specific rules for massage therapy schools:
- Your school may not enrol or issue education credentials to students who are less than 18 years old.
- You may not enrol a student in an advanced course who have not already completed a basic course or had two consecutive years of massage practice.
- Your students cannot perform massage unless it is part of their course of instruction and the student performs the massage under the direct supervision of an instructor at the school, at a public event or at a licensed medical facility.
- Before a student can work on someone other than another student or an instructor, they must have completed the study of anatomy and physiology, massage therapy, hygiene and first aid, law and ethics, and at least 25 hours of actual massage training on other students or members of the staff of the school.
- Students working on a member of the public must identify as students.
- Members of the public must sign a statement acknowledging that they are getting a student massage.
- Your school must have adequate liability insurance.
- You may not include distance education in your curriculum.
About two weeks before the commission meeting, you will send an agenda with the date, time and place of the meeting.
You or someone on your staff familiar with the operation of your school will need to attend the meeting to answer any questions the commission may have.
If your application approve and you submit all additional documents as required, you will issue a provisional license.
During the provisional license term (usually 12 months), you can enrol students.
About 60 days before the provisional license expires, staff will conduct a program review and recommend to the commission whether your provisional term should be extended.
So you should grant a full term license or whether continued licensure should be denied.
In addition to the new school application, you will also need to apply for an agent permit for anyone who will do recruiting for your school.
The agent permit application fee is $200 and is $200 to renew.
Your school will also require making quarterly payments based on your student enrollment figures for the previous quarter.
Licensed must renew every 2 years.
If you want to open a new massage therapy school in Nevada and starting a Massage Therapy School in Nevada.
So you must apply for and obtain a license through the Commission on Postsecondary Education.
Your school must have at least a 500-hour curriculum.
It may take 60 days to 6 months or more to obtain a provisional license.
After your provisional term, if all is well, you will grant a full license.
The total of all application fees is around $2400-$2600.
You are also responsible for the cost of your background investigation.
Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy
Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education
Leave a Reply