The table below provides the time window within which you must renew your licensed massage therapist designation.
In some states, a massage license does not expire. In others, renewal or reinstatement is not allowed once your license is expired and thus you must reapply.
Six months appears to be the shortest duration you can go without renewing your license in some states such as Florida.
So while five years appears to be the longest in some states such as Colorado.
Some states have complex nuances. For example, in Kentucky, you have 90 days.
And also, you can only reinstate after 90 days if you can prove to the board that the circumstances were beyond your control.
On the other hand, licenses in New York are for life but must be registered in order to practice.
In Tennessee, there is a 60-day reinstatement window at the discretion of the state board of massage therapy.
You will have to tell them why it wasn’t renewed on time and meet all other renewal requirements and pay late fees.
Stay out of trouble. Find your state below and understand what’s required of you to ensure you are able to legally practice massage therapy.
|State||Time Allowed for Non-renewed Licensee to Reinstate License|
|Alaska||Nothing found in state rules or laws regarding late renewals or reinstatement. Licenses were first required in 2015. First renewals September 2017.|
|Arkansas||Not allowed – must reapply|
|California||No state license|
|Colorado||5 years; requirements increase after 2 years|
|Connecticut||Not allowed – must reapply|
|Georgia||1 month late renewal; after that at discretion of board|
|Illinois||5 years; after 5 years under some circumstances|
|Indiana||Allowed; nothing in laws and rules to indicate a time limit|
|Iowa||Can be reactivated at any time, requirements increase after 5 years|
|Kansas||No state license|
|Kentucky||90 days; can only reinstate after 90 days if you can prove to the board that the circumstances were beyond your control|
|Massachusetts||5 years; after 5 years under some circumstances|
|Michigan||3 years – after 3 years, have to submit proof of competence|
|Minnesota||No state license|
|Montana||Nothing found in state rules or laws regarding late renewals or reinstatement.|
|Nebraska||Allowed; no time limit found in law and rules|
|New Hampshire||No reactivation; Reapply for license – if more than 2 years, also retake tests|
|New Jersey||5 years|
|New Mexico||2 years|
|New York||Licenses in New York are for life, but must be registered in order to practice|
|North Carolina||2 years|
|North Dakota||1 year|
|Ohio||2 years; after that increased requirements|
|Rhode Island||Not allowed – must reapply|
|South Carolina||4 years|
|South Dakota||Not allowed – must reapply|
|Tennessee||60 days; reinstatement at discretion of the board – must tell them why it wasn’t renewed on time and meet all other renewal requirements and pay late fees|
|Vermont||No state license|
|Virginia||Increased requirements after 2 years|
|Washington||Requirements increase after 1 year and again after 3 years|
|West Virginia||30 days for late renewal; after that considered lapsed; May be reinstated by appearing before the board, explaining circumstances to their satisfaction and paying reinstatement fee|
|Wisconsin||Increased requirements after 5 years|
|Wyoming||No state license|
I need to find my expired license. Can you help me with that? I got it in 1994/1995/1996
Only your state board can help you with specific license numbers and their validity
I moved from Tennessee after getting my massage license in the year 2000.went to Louisiana and got a Medical Assisting degree in 2003. Now I’m in Ohio and want to do massage.
Hi Reneda – how can we help you?
Hello! I live in Colorado. It has been 10+ years since I graduated and practiced massage. Is there a way to reinstate my license by studying and taking the exam plus continued Ed? Or, would I need to complete the training all over again?
Jill, there should be a way. What has the CO state board told you so far?
Hi! Hopefully there is an answer for me, but I was wondering what I need to do to get my license back in AZ if I haven’t had it since 2009? Thank you!
read our article on how to reinstate a license. the AZ state board should also be able to help with specific questions you may have
how do you maintain a certification?
all the requirements are listed on our site as well as state boards
What if when you became certified at a later date the state in which you lived changed to licensure?
most states have grandfather clauses. for states that do not, you simply have to convert to licensing. the requirements are not that strenuous. usually just an application process
As I understand from above — in Illinois — if the license expired in 2016 It IS still valid to practice Massage Therapy under the expired license? It is being renewed now though.
technically not but you can get conditional approvals, such as in your case in which you are in the process of renewal
Hi. I was licensed in 1999 and practiced until 2011. I was licensed in Florida and was Nationally certified as well. I was married to someone in the military and with moving so much I had my license expire and it was hard to keep up with the ceu’s. I did freeze my license. I am now in Virginia and I want to activate my license again. I just want to make sure my license is able to activate again before I pay the nonrefundable fee to activate it with the time it has been inactive. I am working on ceu’s and was told I need to do 48 but I feel like I need more. I would like to reinstate my nationally certfication as well. If I could get any help I would appreciate it. I am kind of lost and I want to do everything right. Thank You!
Misty – we have an article on how to reinstate and expired license. Have you read it? Highly recommend you do and follow the step by step process. It is easier than you think! Let us know if you have specific questions after reading the article.
Can I reinstate a license in the state of Texas. That has been expired since 2012. Without taking the course all over again.
In Georgia I applied for reinstatement . I had completed CE’s but did not pay -unintentionally.
I’ve sent everything they asked me to send . They received last documents 10/2/19. I have a job and boss waiting on my reinstatement. It has been 15 business days but they haven’t released my license . I do not wish to lose my job . Do I need legal help?
My license in Illinois was put on hold back in 2008 because I was going to stay home and raise my kids. Back then they never told me there was a 5 year limit or I would have tried and kept it up. What do I have to do to get my license reinstated. Thank you and have a wonderful day.
Melinda – it depends on current requirements. What has the state board told you? Please share here so we can advise you on next steps