How to Operate a Massage School in Texas

How to Operate a Massage School in Texas!

The requirements for massage therapy practice.

And also,  education is overseen by the Texas Department of State Health Services.

So, if you want to start a private massage school in Texas.

However, you must have a minimum of 500 hours of instruction.

And also, use the curriculum outline provided by the department.

Your school must be licensed as a massage school by the state.

Massage School License Application Procedure and Requirements

Your massage school license application needs to be submitting at least 60 days.

Before you are planning to begin instruction.


Teaching cannot be advertised or begin until your application approved.

And also, your facility has been inspecting.

Requirements your program will be required to meet:

  • The 500-hour program must be divided up as follows:
    • 200 hours of massage therapy technique and theory.
    • which 125 must be Swedish Massage.
    • 50 hours of anatomy;
    • 25 hours of physiology;
    • 50 hours of kinesiology;
    • 40 hours of pathology;
    • 20 hours of hydrotherapy;
    • 45 hours of massage therapy laws and rules, business practices, and professional ethics;
    • 20 hours of health, hygiene, first aid, universal precautions and CPR
    • a 50 hour internship.

The state of Texas provides a 48-page curriculum outline of the subjects to be taught.

And competencies for completing each topic.

How to Operate a Massage School in Texas!


Your curriculum must follow that outline.

  • You must have a person that is the designated director of education.
  • As well as a person who is designated to perform the director’s duties.
  • When the director is away from the campus.
  • One of these people must be available.
  • When the school is inspected.
  • The Swedish Massage portion of your curriculum must be taught by a Texas licensed massage instructor.
  • Massage instructors must
    • Be a licensed massage therapist;
    • Have a high school diploma, GED.
    • Either college transcript showing completion of at least 12 hours;
    • Have been a practising massage therapist for at least one year.
    • And also, have at least 500 hours of hands-on experience.
    • Complete a 30-hour course on teaching adult learners.
  • Instructors that are teaching subjects other than massage technique are not required to be licensed massage therapy instructors.
  • They must meet the following requirements:
    • A baccalaureate or higher degree from a college or university with
      • Nine semester hours or 12 quarter hours in the area to be taught.
      • At least one year of practical experience within the past 10 years in the area to be taught.

Degree From A College or University

  • An associates degree from a college or university and!
    • At least one year of practical experience within the past 10 years in the area to be taught.
    • And also, nine semester hours or 12 quarter hours of classes in the area to be taught.
    • At least two years of practical experience within the past 10 years in the area to be taught.
  • A high school diploma or GED or completion of nine semester hours.
  • Either 12 quarter hours in the area to be taught.
  • And also, at least two years of practical experience within the past 10 years in the area to be taught.
  • CPR and First Aid Instructors must be certified by the American Heart Association.
  • The American Red Cross, the National Safety Council.
  • Either an equivalent organization.
  • You will need to evaluate your instructors annually.
  • You will need to demonstrate financial stability by providing
    • Audited balance sheets;
    • Expected operation-related expenses for the first three months.
    • A sworn statement from the owner certified sufficient cash to cover expenses such as
      • Salaries;
      • Equipment;
      • Lease payments;
      • Accounting, legal and other professional fees;
      • Other expenses such as advertising, travel, textbooks, office supplies, classroom supplies.
      • And also, printing, telephone, utilities, taxes, and sales commissions.
    • Other evidence requested by the department to prove financial stability.
  • Your school’s internship program cannot be more than 120 hours.
  • Students may not accumulate more than 50 hours in an internship program.
  • Unless your program is approved for more than 50 hours.
  • Students may only do internships at one location.
  • If you want to teach more than 500 hours.
  • You must have approval from the department.
  • In order for your longer program to be approved
    • Your school needs to be accredited by an agency approved by the US Department of Education.

      How to Operate a Massage School in Texas 

      • Texas school is licensed
        • You also have a 500 hour program available.
        • And also, the student can choose their program.
        • Your first 500 hours follow the curriculum provided by the state;
        • All classroom hours in excess of 450 are designed to meet educational goals.
        • That is directly related to one of the core competencies required.
        • They design all internship hours in excess of 50 hours to meet educational goals.
        • That are directly related to massage therapy competencies required by the department;
        • Total number of classroom hours does not exceed 880;
        • The total number of internship hours does not exceed 120.
      • You need to provide your students with a document indicating that!
        The number of hours is more than required for obtaining a license in Texas.
      • And also, have the document signed by the student before enrollment.
  • So you need to provide your admission requirements to the department and justify each requirement.
  • And also, you need to maintain any records of pre-admission courses taken by the student.
  • That meet the requirements for the 500 hour program.
  • You cannot require a student to re-take classes already passed.
  • That meet the requirements for the 500 hour program.
  • Therefore, how to operate a massage school in Texas.

    Before you enrol a student, you will need to give them:

    • A program outline;
    • Admission requirements;
    • Schedule of tuition, fees and other expenses;
    • A cancellation and refund policy;
    • The length of time for completion of the program, including internship hours;
    • A class schedule that includes estimated break and meal times;
    • Attendance and progress policies, including requirements.
    • And also, fees for make-up hours;
    • Grievance policies;
    • Student-teacher ratio;
    • Conduct policy;
    • Written and verbal explanation of the difference between a loan and a grant.
    • So if your school participates in loan or grant programs;
    • A copy of the enrollment agreement;
    • As a massage therapist student can be licensing.
    • And also, a notice that clearly states the number of hours required before.
    • A list of instructors, their qualifications and the subjects they teach;
    • Information on how to obtain a copy of the Texas Laws and Rules governing massage therapy;
    • A list of conditions that would make a person ineligible for licensure under Texas law.
    • How to operate a massage school in Texas
  • Documents and policies given to students must meet requirements specified in the Texas rules.
  • Adequate equipment must have maintained in good condition.
  • You must have adequate space for classrooms.
  • If space allows, your student-teacher ratio cannot exceed 36:1.
  • Your facility must meet local fire and safety requirements.
  • Your facility must meet health and sanitation code requirements.
  • The initial license and inspection fee is $2805.

Massage school licenses need to be renewing every two years.

School license renewals cost $2002.

You will need to apply separately.

If you want to offer more than 500 hours.

You will also need to file for additional approvals for adding a location.


If you want to open a private massage therapy school in Texas.

So you must obtain a license from the Department of Health Services.

Furthermore, you will need to have a 500-hour.

Either more program of instruction.

That follows the curriculum of the department.

How to Operate a Massage School in Texas!

If you want to have a program that offers more than 500 hours.

So you will need to have additional approvals.

Your program cannot exceed 1000 hours total.

The time from application to obtaining a license is approximately 60 days.

The cost of your initial license and inspection is $2805.

They will need to renew your license every 2 years

Renewals cost $2002.


Texas Massage Therapy Licensing Program

Massage School Information

Texas Massage-related Forms

Texas Massage Therapy Rules

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *