Texas Massage Therapy Teaching Requirements, the state of Texas has very clear and also, specific requirements to become a massage therapy instructor.
Massage Teachers must be licensed as instructors, which requires that the instructor:
- Is a licensed massage therapist
- Has a high school diploma or GED
- Has at least 500 hours (1 year experience) practicing massage therapy
- Completes a 30 hour course on teaching adult learners
Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors
Licensed massage instructors are required to license massage therapists,
Which requires 500 hours of instruction in the following topics:
- 200 Hours of Massage therapy techniques (including at least 125 hours of Swedish massage)
- 50 hours of Anatomy
- 25 hours of Physiology
- 50 hours of Kinesiology
- 40 hours of Pathology
- 20 hours of hydrotherapy
- 45 hours of massage related laws, rules, business practices and ethics
- 20 hours of health and hygiene, first aid and CPR
- 50 hours of internship
Applicants must also pass the state of Texas Massage therapy license exam.
And also, then receive an additional 30 hours of instruction for teaching adult learners.
Recommended Experience – Texas Massage Therapy Teaching Requirements
All massage therapy school instructors required to have a minimum of one year or 500 hours of professional practice experience.
Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers
Continuing education is required to maintain a massage therapist license (which is required to maintain a massage instructors license).
And also, a therapist needs at least 12 continuing education hours every 2 years to renew their license.
The state of Texas does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance.
Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it not required.
Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization.
Such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).
AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.
The massage therapy school instructor license costs $215 and must renew every 2 years.
A massage therapists license, which is also required, costs $106, and there are steep late fees for late renewals.
Massage Instructor License Requirements
Massage Instructor License Fees
Texas Massage Therapy Teaching Requirements
Massage Therapist License Requirements
Leave a Reply