[qs_widget wtpl=”onestep” sub=”MASSAGE-THERAPY” framewidth=”600″ frameheight=”120″]
Oklahoma is an excellent state to work.
As a massage therapist with work opportunities ranging from medical settings.
And also, hospitals, privately owned practices and even owning your own massage establishment.
So as of June 3rd, 2010, the state of Oklahoma decided to eliminate the licensing requirement for massage therapists.
And also, instead of hand the licensing requirements over to each municipality.
The Oklahoma Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) is currently promoting centralized state licensing requirements.
Making it easier to work and become a massage therapist here.
So the only aspect holding you or anyone else back from becoming a massage therapist here would be a lack of drive and passion.
With drive and passion, you can reach all of your goals as a massage therapist in the state of Oklahoma.
Scroll straight to the bottom to see a list of the top massage therapy schools in Oklahoma.
Brief Summary of the Main Highlights
Because Oklahoma does not require you to become a licensed massage therapist under the state.
And also, you should still strive to join and become an active part of organizations and groups.
That helps you to move your career further.
So you are also required to remain in good standing with the Oklahoma Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association to help you search.
And also, receive a job in the state of Oklahoma.
Because if you will continue reading.
So you will find additional information that will help you build upon your massage therapy skills.
And also, formulate an excellent track record for your massage therapy career.
In February 2013, two bills were introduced to the Oklahoma state legislature.
So which will eventually require you as the massage therapist to practice with a state license?
Because these bills were not passed.
But have been set for reevaluation by the state in the near future.
Schooling Details And Requirements (Credit Hours)
As for current schooling details, the Oklahoma Massage Coalition is currently working to request.
That the legislature enforces a 500-hour state-approved the curriculum for you as a massage therapist student to take and complete.
Furthermore, the combination would also like for the state to require all graduates, including yourself.
To receive a passing certificate from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB).
So even though this is not required, you may choose to voluntarily become certified through this program.
And also, if you would like to find out more about the NCBTMB program.
So please feel free to follow this link provided.
One of the greatest perks of becoming certified through the NCBTMB program is!
That you can then register with the state of Oklahoma as a trained professional massage therapist.
Which aids in bringing in new clients for your massage business.
In order to join the American Massage Therapy Association and also, to display the official symbol on your resume.
So you must first take and pass a 500 hour in a class supervised massage therapy training from an approved training school.
Once you are accepted into the Oklahoma Chapter.
However, you are then at liberty to list your professional credentials on your resume.
Licensure Qualifying Programs
There are several approved massage therapy schools and programs in the state of Oklahoma that you can take advantage of.
The following is a list of these programs with their contact information should you choose to contact them directly.
Jenks Community Education
205 East B Street (Sooner Building)
Jenks, OK 74037
112 SW 11th Street
Lawton, OK 73501
Central State Massage Academy
8494 NW Expressway
Oklahoma City, OK 73162
7100 I-35 Service Road #7118
Oklahoma City, OK 73149
Integrated Massage Therapy College
2215 North Minnie Lane
Oklahoma City, OK 73127
8900 North Weston Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73114
Clary Sage College
3131 S. Sheridan
Tulsa, OK 74145
Community Care College
4242 S. Sheridan
Tulsa, OK 74145
As it stands, there are no requirements for becoming a licensed professional massage therapist in the state of Oklahoma.
However, although there are no set laws and guidelines.
Furthermore, you should still aim to go after an education.
And also, further your total understanding of the massage therapy career.
Key Agencies/Boards involved and their contact information
In the state of Oklahoma, there are plenty of professional associations.
That you can belong to that will aid in launching you further into your massage therapy career.
So one excellent organization is that of the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) mentioned above.
Through this particular organization.
So you can professionally establish yourself as a massage therapist and begin searching for clients.
In addition, the American Massage Therapy Association offers excellent benefits to those who become members.
Benefits through AMTA include liability insurance, education opportunities, practice management.
And also, discounted massage products for your business.
So if you would like to learn more about the AMTA.
So please feel free to visit their website by clicking the link here.
Requirements To Start A Massage Business in Oklahoma (Massage Establishment License)
However, if you are looking to start your own massage business in the state of Oklahoma.
So then a great place to begin is by visiting the state’s official website business page.
Starting your business will entail some if not all of the following topics and actions:
- Name your business
- Register your business with the state and file appropriate forms
- Choose the business structure you would like to operate as sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation
- Obtain a tax ID number
- Obtain funding to start your business
Massage License Renewal Process
Because licensing requirements do not exist in the state of Oklahoma.
And also, you will not need to renew your license per state law (check with your local community for license renewal requirements).
However, be sure to regularly check in with the state of Oklahoma to ensure that this does not change with time.
Massage License Reciprocity
Therefore, if you hold a massage license in another state or territory outside of the United States.
And also, would like to begin a massage business in the state of Oklahoma.
Then you are welcome to do so.
However, because other massage therapists are not regularly certified.
The competition here will be very high.
Note: Specific personal information, office addresses, fees, payments etc.
May change over time.
Although we do our best to keep this site up to date.
Please ensure you contact the state board to obtain the most recent information at the time of your application.
So here is a list of the top massage therapy schools near you.
And also, we have an arrangement with all of them.
That allows you to request information for FREE.
Please do so and take that first step toward a better future.
[qs_listing areaofinterest=”MASSAGE-THERAPY” iptogeo=”true”]
Is the North American Massage Institute in Tulsa, OK a licensed school?
Libby, we will have to check for you with the state board or directly with the school. we are not an accreditation agency
I went to school in witchita ks which is also not a state licensed how do I find out if the school I went to is a approved school
Ashlee, you can check with the KS state board or the school directly
I am a personnel trainer. I stretch people. I attended a CE for this and a technic call soft touch muscle release. This is through cross country. It was avertized for personal trains, pt’s and massage therapist. I consisted that a personal training section and charge as such.$20. For the hour. Am I going to have a problem in may. I do make it clear to the client I am not a massage therapist
Melissa – thank you for sharing. have you considered becoming a licensed therapist? why or why not? how did you end up in your profession?
Do you need to be 18 ? To become a Therapist /Licensed
in most places yes
I see the 500 hours, but in “real time”, how long does schooling usually take?
It takes as long as your school allows you to cram in the 500. i.e. if you do 20 hrs a week, you will get your 500 hrs in 25 weeks or approx 6 + months
Are massage therapy classes available online?
yes -we have several articles dedicated to this topic. please read them to get started