Firstly, here are some guides to help you with the required skills, experience, and also, the background to become a massage school instructor in the Aloha state.
Before you become a massage school instructor in Hawaii.
So you have to attend a massage school to get a certification or degree in the field.
And also, here is a short list of some of the top massage schools in the state:
- Hawaii School of Professional at Pearl Kai Shopping Center Aiea, HI 96701
Contact Form: http://www.massagecenterhi.com/contact
Phone: (808) 485-2808
- Hawaii Massage Academy at Honolulu Hawaii
Contact Form: http://www.hawaiimassageacademy.net/contact
- Big Island Academy of Massage at 211 Kino’ole St. Hilo. HI 96720
Contact Form: http://www.hilomassage.com/contact-us.html
Phone: (808) 969-7676
- Aisen Shiatsu School Interstate at 1314 King St. #601 Honolulu, HI 96814
Contact Form: http://www.aisenshiatsu.com/contact
So aside from learning massage techniques and strategies.
And also, you should be knowledgeable about these areas of massage therapy:
- Theories of massage
- Massage technology
- Advanced massage modalities
- Lesson planning
- Strategies on how to properly apply massage techniques
- Teaching process about massage therapy
- Classroom activities such as basic sports massage and healing techniques
Furthermore, massage schools will be looking for the following requirements during your application:
- A Bachelor or Master’s degree in Massage Therapy Program from a licensed massage school
- Certification of a few years of work experience in the field of massage therapy for non-degree holders
Years of working experience
And also, massage schools in the state of Hawaii will welcome you if you have the following qualifications:
- So minimum of two years of experience in academic instruction
- Minimum of two years of industry experience in the field of instructing massage therapy.
Moreover, top massage schools will usually prefer you if you have these requirements:
- And also, three years of experience in post-secondary environment academic instruction
- So five to ten years (or more) of experience in the field of instruction
Supplementary education or training requirements
And also, the mandatory time for your massage school instructor training is 570 hours.
Aside from your degree in a massage school, training is being required by the Hawaii Massage Therapy Board.
After the training, you should learn Anatomy, massage theories, clinical situations, therapeutic techniques, bacteriology, proper sanitation, and laws and rules of the massage school and industry.
So some massage schools also offer training programs you need before you become a massage school instructor.
And also, you can find other information about training requirements by visiting the Hawaii Professional and Vocational Licensing website. http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/contact/
So after going to a massage school and completing your training hours.
So you can get your license at the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.
This is the organization that accredits massage schools.
Furthermore, you have to make sure that you bring with you the following requirements for licensing:
- The current CPR certificate of completion for both infant and also, adult issues by ARC or AHA
- Completed and signed application form
- $50 application fee
- Copy of school transcripts, brochure, and course description
- CPR card and proof that the school you attended is licensed.
So when your application for licensing is approved by the national board.
So you need to take the Hawaii massage test.
The exam is being offered four times a year.
So it’s best to schedule ahead of time.
You will still be entertained as a walk-in applicant.
But you will be obligated to pay an extra fee of $50.
To know more about licensing requirements to become a massage school instructor.
And also, you can reach the Professional and Vocational Licensing in this contact form. http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/contact/
So before you get insured in general, professional, and products liability.
And also, you have to submit these requirements first:
- Completed Hawaii licensing examination.
- Exams from other states won’t be accepted.
- Educational Requirements – completed hours in class work wherein you learn these topics:
- Proper procedure in massaging
- Theories of massage
- Techniques for a specific condition
- Assessment of client’s condition
- Other application in the massage program
- Practical Requirements – completed hours of practical massage training wherein you experience doing the following duties:
- Clinical operations
- Supervising hands-on massage
- Advanced techniques
And also, apprenticeships outside Hawaii will not be accepted for insurance.
To know more about how you will get protection from insurance groups in this state.
So you may visit the official website of Hawaii Government.
Fees and Salary Rate
Fees for massage programs in massage schools in the state of Hawaii depend on whether you will apply for basic or professional classes.
So your payment will be divided in three:
- Tuition Fee – it includes your registration fee and school textbooks and handouts
- Student Kits – this is made up of your product kits and uniform
- State Taxes
Furthermore, your salary as a massage school instructor can range from $20,000 to $40,000 and up per year.
Because this will depend on the location where you will be working in Hawaii.
Lastly, to check the salary of massage instructors in each Hawaii city, you may visit this website.