New Jersey Massage Therapy Schools & Requirements

[qs_widget wtpl=”onestep” sub=”MASSAGE-THERAPY” framewidth=”600″ frameheight=”120″]

Experience all that “The North” has to offer by starting a massage business and becoming a licensed massage therapist in New Jersey.

And also, New Jersey has some of the richest culture, fast-paced city life and also, many personality types.

So many people here are searching for a relaxing outlet.

Which makes New Jersey an excellent place to start a massage business.

Here the opportunities are endless.

The people are many and the income potential is very high.

And also, you too can become a part of this bustling and growing massage industry in New Jersey!

Scroll straight to the bottom to see a list of the top massage therapy schools in New Jersey.

Brief Summary of the Main Highlights

And also, New Jersey has set requirements and guidelines that you as an aspiring massage therapist must abide by and complete in its entirety.

So there are a set number of education hours, various licensure methods and also, renewal processes that must be followed.

Be sure to understand all of the information in this article and use it as a guide while you embark on your journey towards becoming a successful New Jersey Massage Therapist.

Schooling Details and Requirements (Credit Hours)

And also, the state of New Jersey requires that you meet a total of 500 hours in an in-class supervised school or program related to the massage therapy industry.

The following is the breakdown of the total 500-hour curriculum:

    • 90 hours in Anatomy, Physiology and also, Pathophysiology
    • Business Ethics and Law
    • Theory and Practice
    • Electives that are related to the massage industry
    • At least 100 hours of clinical practice

Licensure Qualifying Programs

Because the following is a list of some of the massage schools available to you as an aspiring massage therapist.

And also, you may enrol in one of these programs to meet the 500-hour in class requirement.

So please feel free to use this information to contact the schools and also, programs at your discretion.

Lourdes Wellness Center
900 Haddon Avenue #100
Collingswood, NJ 08108
Phone: 856-869-3134

Gentle Healing School of Massage
1274 S. River-Cranbury Road
Cranbury, NJ 08512
Phone: 609-409-2700

Monmouth County Vocational Schools
4000 Kozloski Road
Freehold, NJ 07728
Phone: 732-431-7942

Academy of Massage Therapy
321 Main Street 2nd Floor
Hackensack, NJ 07601
Phone: 201-568-3220

Institute for Therapeutic Massage
1069 Ringwood Avenue #315
Haskell, NJ 07420
Phone: 973-839-6131

Academy of Massage Therapy
75 Montgomery Street #402
Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone: 201-568-3220

Massage Therapy

40 Journal Square
Jersey City, NJ 07306
Phone: 888-852-7272

Brookdale Community College
765 Newman Springs Road
Lincroft, NJ 07738
Phone: 732-224-2308

Institute for Therapeutic Massage
95 Mt. Kemble Avenue
Morristown, NJ 07962
Phone: 973-839-6131

Essex County College
303 University Avenue
Newark, NJ 07102
Phone: 973-877-3000

Institute for Therapeutic Massage
300 Broadway
Newark, NJ 07104
Phone: 732-936-9111

Institute for Therapeutic Massage
150 Bergen Street
Newark, NJ 07103
Phone: 973-839-6131

651 US Route 1 South
North Brunswick, NJ 08902
Phone: 732-448-2600

JSG School of Massage Therapy
207 Livingston Street
Northvale, NJ 07647
Phone: 201-394-9200

959 Route 46 East
Parsippany, NJ 07054
Phone: 973-630-4900

Institute for Therapeutic Massage
213 State Route 35
Red Bank, NJ 07701
Phone: 732-936-9111

Everest Institute
5000 Hadley Road #100
South Plainfield, NJ 07080
Phone: 908-222-9300

Body, Mind & Spirit Learning Alliance
917-2 North Main Street
Toms River, NJ 08753
Phone: 732-349-7153

Institute for Therapeutic Massage
99 Hwy 37 West
Toms River, NJ 08755
Phone: 732-936-9111

Ocean County Massage Institute
226 Rt. 37 West #6
Toms River, NJ 08755
Phone: 732-286-0599

National Massage Therapy Institute
108 Greentree Road
Turnersville, NJ 08012
Phone: 856-227-1754

Cortiva Institute-Somerset School of Massage Therapy
1985 Highway 34
Wall Township, NJ 07719
Phone: 732-885-3400

Warren County Community College
475 Route 57 West
Washington, NJ 07882
Phone: 908-835-9222

Therapeutic Massage Training Center
560 Springfield Avenue #F&H
Westfield, NJ 07090
Phone: 908-789-2288

Academy of Natural Health Sciences
102 Green Street
Woodbridge, NJ 07095
Phone: 732-634-2155

Licensing/Certification Requirements

And also, there are 3 different ways of obtaining a massage license in the state of New Jersey.

So the following lists and explains in detail these requirements and expectations that you must meet before a license will be given to you.

  • Licensure by Examination – You may obtain your license by examination if you took and also, successfully passed one of the following national examinations:
    • The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB)
    • And also, the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination
    • OR the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx)
    • So to begin your application for licensure by examination, please visit this website provided.
  • Licensure by Education – You can apply for licensure if you have completed a certain amount of credit in class hours.
  • And also, in the state of New Jersey, this amount is 500 hours.
  • The 500-hour program must include the following courses:
    • 90 hours in Anatomy, Physiology and Pathophysiology
    • And also, Business Ethics and Law
    • Theory and Practice
    • Furthermore, electives that are related to the massage industry
    • At least 100 hours of clinical practice

MTSI – New Jersey Massage Therapy Schools & Requirements

To begin the application process for licensure by education.

So please visit the webpage linked here.

And also, once you have completed your education, the school must submit an official transcript directly to the Board.

  • Licensure by Endorsement – If you are licensed in another state you may apply for reciprocity in the state of New Jersey.
  • And also, you must first, however, arrange for each state that you are licensed in to submit verification of licensure or certification that is in good standing with that particular state.
    • To begin the application processes for licensure by endorsement please follow the link provided here.

So once you have successfully applied for licensure you must also submit and also, meet the following requirements:

  • And also, the fee for licensure must be paid by credit card when applying online.
  • Because this initial licensure fee is a total of $120.
  • Submit a criminal history record. You must pay for this background check; the fee is $78.
  • So have proof of a high school or GED diploma
  • And also, hold a current CPR, First Aid and AED certification.

Key Agencies/Boards involved and their contact information

And also, the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy is the governing body that oversees the massage therapy industry in the state of New Jersey.

So if you have any questions or concerns regarding your license through the Board.

So please feel free to use the following contact information:

New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy
P.O. Box 47032
Newark, NJ 07101
Phone: 973-504-6520

Requirements to Start a Massage Business in New Jersey (Massage Establishment License)

And also, beginning your business as a massage therapist in the state of New Jersey can be a very exciting and also, exhilarating experience.

But there is work that must be performed on your part.

To begin, be sure to visit the state’s official business webpage to find all of the links and also, information you will need to continue pursuing your dream of becoming a business owner.

So the following are some factors that will play into starting your own massage business here in the state of New Jersey:

  • And also, choose what structure you would like your business to operate as – sole proprietorship, partnership or corporation.
  • So write a business plan to outline your goals, marketing plans, business plans and financial projections.
  • And also, Name your business and register with the state.
  • Obtain a tax ID number for tax purposes.
  • To obtain your New Jersey Massage Therapy License.
  • And also, secure a location for your practice.

Massage License Renewal Process

Furthermore, to renew your massage license you must complete a total of 20 continuing education credit hours related to the massage therapy industry during the 2-year period.

Of these 20 hours.

So you must complete at least 2 hours in Ethics.

And also, once these continuing education hours have been completed, hold onto the certificates.

However, if you receive an official “continuing education audit” letter.

Then you will be required to submit all of your continuing education certificates to the Board.

And also, if you are not selected, please do not send these certificates to the Board.

So once you have obtained all of the required 20 hours of continuing education.

So you must renew your license.

As well as, a massage therapist you are expected to renew every two years on November 30th of any even-numbered year.

Along with your renewal application, you must submit a renewal fee of $120.

Massage License Reciprocity

So If you are licensed as a massage therapist in another state or jurisdiction.

And also, you may apply for licensure by endorsement.

To do so, you must submit verification from the state in which your license is held at directly to the Board.

Additionally, a full-face passport size photograph of your head and shoulders must also submit.

Other requirements include the following:

  • Proof that you have current CPR, First Aid and AED certification from courses offered by the American Heart Association or a similar organization.
  • And also, a passport size photo of your head/face and also, shoulders.
  • Because this photo must have been taken in the last 6 months.
  • An application fee of $195.
  • And also, a background check – which requires you to submit a $78 background check fee.

Note: Specific personal information, office addresses, fees, payments etc.

May change over time.

Although we do our best to keep this site up to date.

So please ensure you contact the state board to obtain the most recent information at the time of your application.

Here is a list of the top massage therapy schools near you.

And also, we have an arrangement with all of them that allow you to request information for FREE.

Please do so and take that first step toward a better future.

[qs_listing areaofinterest=”MASSAGE-THERAPY” iptogeo=”true”]

Link to video lesson.

Learn how to become a massage school teacher in New Jersey here.

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

8 comments on “New Jersey Massage Therapy Schools & Requirements
  1. Johanna says:

    I really want to do massage therapy. I’ve been looking for schools but have not been lucky. I work full time from 9 to 6. I need weekend hours or online. I hope someone can help me. I’m eager to start.

  2. John paui says:

    I am studying here as an international student, but in this article,there is no information to qualify for become a massage therapist.
    I want to be a massage therapist. Even if I am not us citizen and do not have a green card.
    Am i qualified for apply to massage therapist?

    • Neal Lyons says:

      Anyone can become a massage therapist after going through the protocol. whether or not you can legally work in the United States is another question. You will need employer sponsorship to obtain your green card eventually.

  3. Anna Shats says:

    am I right that the law has changed and for the NJ state you now have to pass the exam to obtain the license? before there was an option to obtain it by education ( apply for it if you have completed a certain amount of credited classes -500 hours)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *