How to Teach in a Massage Therapy School in Vermont, Vermont is one of the few states that has no regulation what so ever for massage therapists and bodyworkers.
Which requires 750 hours of education or Maine, which requires 500 hours of education.
Educational programs for massage therapists tend to mirror the requirements in those two states.
As many Vermont therapists choose to practice in more than one state.
Given that there are no requirements to practice massage, massage education in Vermont is similarly, without regulation.
Schools vary widely in the curriculum, as well as cost, with the tuition of some programs being as low as $5000 for 500 hours of instruction, and other being as high as $16,000.
There are a number of small-scale schools taught as apprenticeship programs by a single instructor as a part of their independent massage practice.
And there are other programs taught in conjunction with spa therapy and cosmetology coursework.
Regardless of the venue, to teach massage in Vermont, an instructor will need to have credible experience and education to convince students of the value they offer.
Educational Requirements for Massage Teachers
There are no formal educational requirements to become a massage instructor in the state of Vermont.
Most therapists choose to attend a program that requires at least 500 hours of education.
As well as pursue certification through the MBLEX national massage certification exam.
Students will expect that instructors have at least this level of training, and ideally, some form of specialized education in a particular massage speciality to qualify them to teach beyond the basics.
Recommended Experience – How to Teach in a Massage Therapy School in Vermont
There is no specific experience requirement for massage therapy teachers in Vermont.
Most states suggest at least 2 years professional experience in the field before becoming a teacher, and to compete in the application process, at least 2 years should expect.
Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers
There are no specific continuing education requirements for massage teachers in Vermont.
The nearby state of New Hampshire requires at least 16 hours every two years, and this should consider a recommended minimum for a massage teacher to stay current in the field.
Insurance requirements – How to Teach in a Massage Therapy School in Vermont
Though not required by the state, most practising therapists maintain professional liability insurance through a massage professional organization.
AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.
Fees – How to Teach in a Massage Therapy School in Vermont
There are no explicit fees for teaching massage therapy, but professional liability insurance strongly recommended.
Massage professional liability insurance ranges from $199 to $235 dollars annually and strongly recommended, though not required.