How to Become a Massage Therapy School Instructor in Colorado.
Becoming a massage school instructor in the state of Colorado is a gauntlet of a task and should not be taken lightly at all.
Instead, it should regard as presenting an equal challenge as the other professions out there and there are several reasons for this.
Candidates that are aspiring to become massage school instructors must have an intention to help other people and relieve them of their stress and pain.
Before they become dexterous massage therapists.
They must first learn the requirements of future clients that they will have to cater to.
If you want to become a certified massage therapist.
You’ll have to go through several courses that will include learning, training and examination.
One of the reasons why massage therapy has started to become a reputable profession is because of the demand that requires it.
Too many people are excessively worked and finding a balance between work and leisure is a painful objective to achieve.
To relieve them of their mental affliction, massage therapies are the way to go.
And we have outlined some very simple guidelines on how you can become a successful massage school instructor in the state of Colorado.
Education requirements to become a teacher – Colorado
There are several massage instruction schools that you can enrol in before you can become a qualified teacher.
You must keep in mind that just graduating isn’t going to be sufficient.
Since you’ll also have to put in at least 500 hours of classwork and training.
The Colorado State Office of Massage Therapists also requires that all therapists pass the written MBLEx exam.
You can retrieve more information to this exam over here, along with the examination requirements as well.
The best part about it is that you can take as many exams as you like until you feel that you’re ready to take on the big challenge.
The flexibility of the exam is that you can take it during the day or night, depending on when you’ll be comfortable the most.
Most importantly, you should be familiar with the laws, rules and policies specific to the state of Colorado.
If you unfamiliar with the matter, you can always visit this section.
And further increase your knowledge so that you don’t run into any obstacles along the way.
Additionally, you should create a personal Colorado State Massage Registration account.
And you’ll be able to update your contact info and obtain information about your license.
What are the licensing requirements for becoming a teacher?
To obtain the license, you must show proof that you cleared the MBLEx examination and committed to inputting 500 hours of classwork and training.
Which are given by the school that you graduated from?
Afterwards, you must opt for fingerprint and background checks.
These will need to be submitted to the CBI or Colorado Bureau of Investigation.
‘Simple to follow’ instructions have also been provided on the application.
So that things have been made easy for you.
You should aware that fingerprint and background checks can take up to 12 weeks.
So your application must submit as soon as you are able to.
It should also note that the costs of these tests total up to $39.50 and it’s not included in the application fee.
What are the insurance requirements?
Next up, you should purchase a Professional Liability Insurance.
And there is an entire breakdown provided in order for you to choose the plan that best suits your requirements.
As mentioned above, all Massage Therapy Certificate holders must be familiar with all laws, rules and regulations.
And if you’ve not familiarized yourself with them.
Then you’ll only have yourself to blame.
As to the subject of initially obtaining a license, it will carry a price of $90 for the application and maintain that license.
You will have to pay a bi-yearly fee of $79.
These are the easiest steps provided on how you can enrol in a massage instruction school in Colorado and with practice coupled with hard work.
Earn yourself a place amongst the most capable instructors in the entire district.
Take care to view all the information at least three times before proceeding.
As reading more will always benefit you in the long run.
I am looking for license requirements, if applicable to becoming an instructor in Colorado. I was credentialed in Texas 2008-2013.
Krissy – seems like you have read the article. What specifically is missing from it that we can help you with?
I want to pursue a career in teaching massage to the next generation. I have all the requirements that you mentioned including an Associates Degree of Applied Sciences in Massage Therapy and 13+ years of experience. Most of my therapy is advanced and I want to know if I can just train advanced therapy as continued education or do I need a school to oversee my activity?
Shannaw – you do not have to be associated with a school to provide continuing education in the field of your choice