The state of Iowa requires massage therapists to obtain a license to practice, which requires 600 hours of education and passing the MBLEX massage exam.
Massage therapy instructors at approved massage therapy schools do not have supplemental state-based requirements for licensure or experience.
Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors
Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses are required to have a massage license.
Which requires 600 hours of massage education and passing the MBLEX exam.
The 600 hours of education at an approved Iowa massage school must include:
- 200 hours of massage theory, contraindications, anatomy and physiology to be completed before beginning clinical practice hours
- Up to 100 hours of hands-on clinical practice hours
There are no explicit requirements beyond a license for massage therapy teachers.
Most states require at least 2 years of experience in the field before teaching massage therapy, and applicants for massage therapy teaching positions should expect that hiring institutions would prefer at least 2 years experience to consider a candidate.
Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers
Continuing education requirements not specifically spelt out for instructors.
But massage licensure requires a minimum of 16 hours of continuing education every two years.
The state of Iowa does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance.
Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high.
It is a good idea to carry insurance even though it not required.
Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization.
Such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).
AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.
Fees – Iowa Massage Therapy School Teaching Requirements
There are no specific fees associated with becoming a massage therapy school instructor, other than the license fee to practice massage in Iowa if a teacher teaching massage theory.
An initial 2-year license costs $120.
After that, licenses must renew every 2 years at a cost of $120, plus the cost of at least 16 hours of continuing education.
Iowa Board of Massage Therapy Home
Iowa Board of Massage Therapy Administrative Rules & Laws
Massage Therapy Licensure of Massage Therapists Statutes In Lowa Board
Iowa Massage Therapy School Teaching Requirements
Iowa Board of Massage Therapy Massage Therapy Education Curriculum
Leave a Reply