How to Become a Massage Therapy School Teacher in New Hampshire

How to Become a Massage Therapy School Teacher in New Hampshire, The state of New Hampshire regulates massage therapists through the department of health and human services.

Massage therapists are licensed and must complete at least 750 hours of professional education at a New Hampshire massage therapy school, as well as receive first aid and CPR certifications.

Applicants must also pass the MBLEX licensing exam.

There are no additional state requirements beyond a license for massage therapy teachers.

Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors

Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses required to have a massage license.

Which requires 750 hours of massage education, a first aid and CPR certification, as well as passing the MBLEX exam.

The 750 hours of required education must include:

  • 375 Hours of History, Theory, Practice, Benefits and Contraindications
  • 150 Hours of Anatomy and Physiology
  • 50 Hours of Hygiene, Sanitation, CPR and First Aid
  • 50 Hours of Business Practices and Ethics
  • 125 Hours of Hands on Massage Therapy Practices

Recommended Experience

There are no explicit requirements beyond a license for massage therapy teachers.

Most states require at least 2 years of experience in the field before teaching massage therapy, and applicants for massage therapy teaching positions should expect that hiring institutions would prefer at least 2 years experience to consider a candidate.

Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers

Continuing education requirements are not specifically spelt out for instructors.

But massage licensure requires a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education every two years.

Insurance Requirements – How to Become a Massage Therapy School Teacher in New Hampshire

The state of New Hampshire does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance.

Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it not required.

Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).

AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.


There are no specific fees associated with becoming a massage therapy school instructor, other than the license fee to practice massage in New Hampshire if a teacher is teaching massage theory.

An initial 2 year license costs $110.

After that, licenses must renew every 2 years at a cost of $110, plus the cost of at least 20 hours of continuing education as well as the cost of a renewed CPR and First Aid certification.

Relevant Links

Massage Therapy Rules and Laws for New Hampshire

Massage Therapist License Application and Forms

New Hampshire Board of Health and Human Services

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *