Nebraska has some of the most extensive massage therapy instruction regulation in the country, requiring a minimum of 1000 hours of instruction over a period not less than 9 months to receive a license. However, regulation of massage schools and massage therapy school instructors is minimal.
Their statutes require that schools “employ at least 1 licensed massage therapist as an instructor” implying that a massage therapy teacher at a Nevada massage therapy institution may not actually need a license to practice within Nevada, provided that at least 1 of the instructors employed at the school is licensed.
However, any hands on massage instruction is considered “practicing massage” and will require a Nevada license.
Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors
Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses that are hands on are required to have a massage license, which requires 1000 hours of massage education and passing the MBLEX exam.
The 1000 hours of curriculum required includes at least 100 hours in each of the following subjects, plus 300 hours of electives:
- Health Service Management
- Hygiene and Practical Demonstration
For those not teaching hands on massage, there are no specific requirements and a license may not be required.
There are no explicit requirements beyond a license for massage therapy teachers. Most states require at least 2 years of experience in the field before teaching massage therapy, and applicants for massage therapy teaching positions should expect that hiring institutions would prefer at least 2 years experience to consider a candidate.
Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers
Continuing education requirements are not specifically spelled out for instructors, but massage licensure requires a minimum of 24 continuing education hours every 2 years.
The state of Nebraska does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance. Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it is not required.
Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals). AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.
There are no specific fees associated with becoming an massage therapy school instructor, other than the license application fee to in Nebraska is $25, with a license fee of $110. Licenses must be renewed every 2 years for $110.