Become a Massage Therapy School Instructor in South Carolina, the state of South Carolina requires licensure for massage therapists, which includes receiving 500 hours of education at an approved Rhode Island Massage Therapy School, as well as passing the MBLEx National Massage Exam.
Though job postings for massage therapy instructors in South Carolina often require a license and at least 3-4 years experience, that state only requires that instructors meet one of the following criteria:
- A Bachelors degree from a program with content similar to the content that will be offered in the course taught
- Graduation from a massage school or apprenticeship program with requirements similar to the educational requirements in South Carolina AND a minimum of 3 years experience in the field of massage.
- Is a licensed massage therapist in another state with requirements similar to South Carolina
- Has taught at a massage school with requirements similar to that of the state of South Carolina for a minimum of 2 years
With this in mind, there are many different pathways available to someone that wishes to become a massage therapy instructor within the state of South Carolina.
Educational Requirements for Massage Teachers
Within the state of South Carolina on a long-term basis.
That teaching may be interpreted as practising massage and thus would require a South Carolina massage license.
Which requires at least 500 hours of education.
If coursework was not hands-on massage but was related to another subject.
Such as anatomy or pathology, a bachelors degree in the subject or 2 years teaching experience would accept.
Recommended Experience – Become a Massage Therapy School Instructor in South Carolina
The experience required to become a massage instructor legally within the state of South Carolina is not entirely clear.
The regulations seem to imply that a licensed therapist needs at least 3 years experience.
But also suggest other pathways where someone with 2 years of teaching experience in another state or a bachelors degree related to their field of teaching may also accept.
Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers
South Carolina requires at least 12 hours of continuing education every 2 years to maintain a licence to practice massage therapy.
Though there are other pathways to teach at a massage therapy school.
It is expected that most massage therapy instructors would need to maintain an active massage therapy licence, and thus would need to complete continuing education.
Though not required by the state, most practising therapists maintain professional liability insurance through a massage professional organization.
Such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).
AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.
There are no explicit fees for teaching massage therapy, but professional liability insurance strongly recommended.
Massage professional liability insurance ranges from $199 to $235 dollars annually and strongly recommended, though not required.
A South Carolina State massage therapy license may also require, and costs $150.
South Carolina Massage License Application Form
South Carolina Massage Therapy Board Home Page
Become a Massage Therapy School Instructor in South Carolina
South Carolina Requirements for Continuing Education Instructors
Leave a Reply