The state Illinois requires that massage therapists license to practice massage therapy within the state.
Which requires 600 hours of instruction at an approved massage school and passing the MBLEX exam.
Instructors not required to have supplemental qualifications.
But some schools require that applicants demonstrate hours of experience, requiring as much as 6,000 documented hours of hands-on professional work to consider as a candidate.
Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors
Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses are required to have a massage license, which requires 600 hours of massage education and passing the MBLEX exam.
The 600 hours of education at an approved Illinois massage school must include:
- Anatomy, Physiology, Pathology and Kinesiology
- Massage Theory, Technique and Practice
- Contraindications, Benefits and Precautions
- Ethics and Professionalism
There are no explicit requirements beyond a license for massage therapy teachers.
Most states require at least 2 years of experience in the field before teaching massage therapy, and applicants for massage therapy teaching positions should expect that hiring institutions would prefer at least 2 years experience to consider a candidate.
Some institutions in Illinois require teachers to document as many as 6,000 hours of professional experience before applying.
Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers
Continuing education requirements are not specifically spelt out for instructors, but massage licensure requires a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education every two years.
The state of Illinois does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance.
Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it not required.
Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization.
Such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).
AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.
There are no specific fees associated with becoming a massage therapy school instructor.
Other than the license fee to practice massage in Illinois if a teacher is teaching massage theory.
An initial 2-year license costs $175. After that, licenses must renew every 2 years at a cost of $175, plus the cost of at least 24 hours of continuing education.
Illinois Massage Therapy Board Professional Licensing Website
Illinois Massage Administrative Code
Requirements to Become a Massage Therapy Instructor in Illinois
Illinois General Assembly Massage Licensing Act
i would like to become a massage instructor, i have been a licensed massage therapist in Florida and Illinois since 2009. I have thousands of hours of hands on experience as well as 790 class hours from school in 2009. i am having trouble finding actual places or requirements or places to apply to become an instuctor
Regina, use our website to find a massage school near you and ask them about their instructor programs. Many schools offer this. Email us privately if you don’t find this and we can help