Wisconsin Massage Therapy Schools, Licensing & Certification

[qs_widget wtpl=”onestep” sub=”MASSAGE-THERAPY” framewidth=”600″ frameheight=”120″]

First of all, the state of Wisconsin is an absolutely beautiful one that incorporates vast landscapes and also, attractions for all ages and styles.

With only 4,176 licensed massage therapists in the state.

The competition is slim to none and allows for growth in this particular industry.

Become a licensed massage therapist and also, enjoy all of the perks and also, the success that Wisconsin has to offer you.

Scroll straight to the bottom to see a list of the top massage therapy schools in Wisconsin.

Brief Summary of the Main Highlights

And also, Wisconsin is an excellent place to own and operate your own massage therapy business.

In this article, you will discover all of the rules, regulations and requirements that it will take to become a successfully licensed massage therapist.

Be sure to follow all of the instructions, submit all of the necessary forms and also, meet and exceed all expectations.

Continue reading this article to find out more.

Schooling Details and Requirements (Credit Hours)

So the state of Wisconsin has set forth very strict and also, detailed schooling requirements.

That you will need to meet before being considered for licensure as a massage therapist.

So here you will be required to take at least 600 hours of in-classroom instruction.

The following is the breakdown of the total 600-hour curriculum:

  • 125 required hours of Anatomy, Physiology, Pathology, Kinesiology
  • 50 required hours of Business, Law and Ethics
  • 300 required hours of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Theory, Technique and Practice
  • 20 required hours of Student Clinic
  • 5 required hours of Adult CPR/AED & Standard First Aid
  • 100 additional hours of other courses that relate to the massage therapy industry

After completing this required schooling component, the school or program that you attended must submit Form #2962 directly to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and also, Professional Services at the following mailing address:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
P.O. Box 8935
Madison, WI 53708-8935

Licensure Qualifying Programs

And also, there are several exceptional and approved programs that you may choose to enrol at for your massage therapy education.

As mentioned above, you must meet the set educational requirements.

Which can be completed at one of the following locations.

Wisconsin School of Massage Therapy
N112 W15237 Mequon Road Suite 400
Germantown, WI 53022
Phone: 262-250-1276
Email: info@wsmt.org

Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College
2100 Beaser Avenue
Ashland, WI 54806
Phone: 715-682-4591

Blue Sky School of Professional Massage and Therapeutic Bodywork
2200 American Boulevard
DePere, WI 54114
Phone: 920-338-9500

Blue Sky School of Professional Massage and Therapeutic Bodywork
350 Double Tree Lane
Grafton, WI 53024
Phone: 262-376-1011

St. Croix Center for the Healing Arts
411 County Hwy UU
Hudson, WI 54016
Phone: 715-381-1402

Western Technical College
400 Seventh St. North
La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone: 608-785-9200
Email: webmaster@westerntc.edu

MTSI – Wisconsin Massage Therapy Schools, Licensing & Certification

Blue Sky School of Professional Massage and Therapeutic Bodywork
2005 West Beltline Hwy #201
Madison, WI 53713
Phone: 608-270-5245
Email: madison@blueskyedu.org

East-West Healing Arts Institute
6425 Normandy Lane
Madison, WI 53719
Phone: 608-240-1600

Madison Area Technical College
3550 Anderson Street
Madison, WI 53704
Phone: 608-246-6100

TIBIA Transformation Intuition Bodywork In Action
6225 University Avenue #202
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: 608-238-7378
Email: info@tibiainc.com

Broadview University
4 Campuses in Wisconsin
4901 East Park Blvd.
Madison, WI 53718

The Institute of Beauty and Wellness
342 North Water Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone: 414-227-2889

Lakeside School of Massage
1726 North 1st Street
Milwaukee, WI 53212
Phone: 414-372-4345

Milwaukee School of Massage
830 East Chambers Street
Milwaukee, WI 53212
Phone: 414-263-1179

Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College
1019 South Knowles Avenue
New Richmond, WI 54017
Phone: 715-246-6561

Health Touch School
303 South Grand Avenue
Rothschild, WI 54464
Phone: 715-359-1074
Email: andersj@dwave.net

Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College
505 Pine Ridge Drive
Shell Lake, WI 54871
Phone: 715-468-2815

Wisconsin Indianhead Technical Institute
600 North 21st Street
Superior, WI 54880
Phone: 715-394-6677

Licensing/Certification Requirements

So there are several requirements that the state of Wisconsin has set for you to meet prior to becoming licensed as a massage therapist.

The following is a list of all the eligibility requirements and also, the associated links and information.

  • You must complete and submit an Application (Form #2960) and also, pay all of the fees mentioned below.
  • A total of $150 must be submitted to the Board.
  • $75 of this covers the State Law Exam cost and also, the other $75 is the Credential fee.
  • And also, if you wish to purchase a temporary license, then a $10 fee will be added to your application.
  • A signed copy of your current CPR/First Aid certificate from a DHS approved provider.
  • Because If you still need to meet this requirement.
  • So please feel free to follow this link to find all of the approved CPR providers.
  • So you must be at least 18 years or older and also, be able to show proof of this.
  • And also, you should have proof that you graduated from high school or have acquired a high school level education.
  • A complete Massage Therapy and Body Work Therapy Program Curriculum must be taken and also, proof showing you graduated must be submitted as well.
  • The Form #2962 must be completed by your massage school and submitted directly to the Board.

Massage Therapy 

  • Furthermore, you must take and successfully pass the Wisconsin Massage Therapy and also, Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam.
  • This exam consists of the Wisconsin Statutes and Codes that govern the massage industry.
  • The exam should be taken from a PC as a MAC computer will not support the exam.
  • So once you have completed the exam, you must print the test feedback report to submit as proof that you took and passed it.
  • At the time of application, you must show proof that you are a policyholder and also, are insured with a malpractice liability insurance coverage in the amount of no less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year.
  • And also, you must submit a copy of the current certificate of malpractice liability insurance to demonstrate the coverage amount and expiration date.
  • Therefore, you should not have any criminal offences under federal or state law.
  • And also, you will need to take and successfully pass one of the following exams.
  • The score should be sent directly from the department to the Board.
    • National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage
    • National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
    • Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination of the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine
    • Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination

Key Agencies/Boards involved and their contact information

Underneath the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services is the primary governing organization that overseas.

And also, creates rules and guidelines for the massage industry specific to the state of Wisconsin.

Because this particular department is known as the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board.

So if you would like to contact the Board for any questions or comments, please consider the following contact information:

State of Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
P.O. Box 8935
1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 112
Madison, WI 53708-8935
Phone: 608-266-2112 or 877-617-1565
Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov

Requirements to Start a Message Business in Wisconsin (Massage Establishment License)

And also, starting a massage business in the state of Wisconsin can be a very exciting, exhilarating and fun experience.

So there are several rules and regulations.

However, that you must meet and perform prior to opening your business doors.

To begin, take a brief look at the state of Wisconsin Business webpage linked here, to find all of the necessary information and links to guide you through the business process.

An excellent resource to utilize in starting your own business is the U.S. Small Business Administration.

So here you can learn how to start and manage your business as well as find out about loans and grants.

Below is a list of some of the requirements you will need to meet before you can begin operating as a massage therapist business:

  • Choose a business structure
  • Obtain proper funding
  • Become licensed as a massage therapist in the state of Wisconsin
  • Find a location to open your business
  • Name your business
  • Fill out necessary tax forms and obtain a tax ID number

Massage License Renewal Process

So you must apply and complete your massage license renewal every odd year on February 28th.

In addition to applying for renewal, you will also be required to pay a renewal fee of $82.

Because if you are renewing past the due date, an additional fee will be applied increasing the renewal fee amount to $107.

There are two separate ways of renewing.

The first renewal method can be completed online at the License Renewal Online webpage.

On this page, you will be asked for your Credential Number and PIN to log in.

Through this particular webpage, you will be able to check your application status and also, look-up any necessary information to complete your renewal.

So if you would prefer, you may also request a paper renewal form from the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

To do so, you can contact them directly at 888-506-4239 or 608-261-4460 for the Madison area.

Several states require that all massage therapists take a certain amount of continuing education hours prior to renewing their license.

In Wisconsin, you will not have to worry about doing so.

The state currently does not require you to take any continuing education hours.

Although it is recommended to further your education and to remain up-to-date in the industry.

Massage License Reciprocity

Reciprocity is allowed in the state of Wisconsin, however, there are several steps and also, requirements that you must pass and submit before you will be considered.

First, you must complete and submit an application form #2960 and pay the necessary fees.

For licensure by reciprocity, you must pay a total of $157 in fees; $75 is to pay for the State Law Exam and $82 is considered the Credential fee.

So you must also hold a current massage license, registration or certificate in another state or territory of the United States or another country.

Hence, the credentials for which you hold must be equivalent to that of the state of Wisconsin.

This should include either of the following:

  • Certification by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.
  • Any other organization accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies.
  • OR – completion of at least 600 classroom hours of instruction in massage therapy or bodywork therapy at an approved school.

In addition to the above requirements, you must also submit a copy of the rules and also, regulations of the massage industry from the state or territory where you currently hold a license.


Other requirements include the following:

  • Verification of your current license, registration or certification issued by another state or territory.
  • And also, you must have each state or territory submit letters of verification to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
  • However, you must also take and pass the Wisconsin Massage Therapy and also, Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam on a PC with Internet Explorer installed on it.
  • And also, you should not have been convicted of a criminal offence in any state or territory.
  • Because you should be a policyholder of a malpractice liability insurance coverage in the amount of at least $1,000,000.
  • So to show proof of this you will be required to submit a copy of a current certificate stating the coverage amount and expiration date.
  • Submit a signed copy of your current CPR/First Aid certificate.
  • Be of good moral character.

Note: Specific personal information, office addresses, fees, payments etc.

So may change over time.

Although we do our best to keep this site up to date.

Please ensure you contact the state board to obtain the most recent information at the time of your application.

Here is a list of the top massage therapy schools near you.

And also, we have an arrangement with all of them that allow you to request information for FREE.

Please do so and take that first step toward a better future.

[qs_listing areaofinterest=”MASSAGE-THERAPY” iptogeo=”true”]

Lastly, to learn about how to become a massage teacher in Wisconsin, read this article.

Learn how to become a massage instructor in Wisconsin here.

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

6 comments on “Wisconsin Massage Therapy Schools, Licensing & Certification
  1. Bryan Ghaor says:

    I gotta favorite this website it seems invaluable invaluable

  2. Just wanna comment that you have a very decent website , I the layout it actually stands out.

  3. Josef Sogge says:

    I’ll right away snatch your rss as I can not to find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly permit me understand so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  4. Jim Mohr says:

    Is there any way a private individual can have a massage therapy business in Wisconsin without a license?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *