How to Teach in a Massage Therapy School in Mississippi

The state of Mississippi has extensive and complicated requirements for instructors at massage therapy schools, and the requirements vary based on the coursework taught.  The instructor application outlines those requirements by course type.

In general, to teach most massage therapy courses an instructor must have 3 years experience in the massage field, a massage license requiring 700 hours of education, and have completed at least 20 hours of instruction for teachers in post secondary technical schools.

Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors

Massage instructors are required to have a variety of different educational experiences, based on the course they will teach.  Those requirements break down as follows:

Instructors teaching palpatory anatomy or kinesiology classes, or massage theory or practice classes must have:

  • Graduation from an approved massage school
  • A valid massage therapy license
  • Evidence of having completed at least 2 times the number of hours they intend to teach in the subject matter they will teach
  • Completion of at least 20 hours of post secondary teacher
  • Some practical teaching experience in adult education

Instructors teaching pathology, anatomy, physiology, kinesiology or Aids/HIV awareness must have:

  • A bachelors degree in one of the following fields: pathology, anatomy, physiology, kinesiology, sports medicine, exercise physiology, nursing or biology, or;
  • At least 270 classroom hours in pathology, anatomy, physiology, kinesiology, palpatory anatomy, or AIDS/HIV and infections disease.

Instructors teaching business practices or marketing must have:

  • Graduation from an approved massage school
  • A valid massage therapy license
  • Three years experience practicing massage therapy
  • Evidence of having operated a massage therapy establishment or;
  • A bachelors degree in business or marketing

Instructors teaching courses related to Mississippi Laws or Regulations must have:

  • Graduation from an approved massage school
  • A valid massage therapy license
  • Three years experience practicing massage therapy
  • Evidence of having taken a course in Mississippi Massage Statutes
  • Completion of at least 20 hours of post secondary teacher
  • Experience teaching adult education or;
  • Licensed to practice law in Mississippi

Instructors teaching courses in hydrotherapy, safety or hygiene must have:

  • Graduation from an approved massage school
  • A valid massage therapy license
  • Three years experience practicing massage therapy or;
  • Relevant specialized training

Instructors teaching CPR or First Aid must be:

  • Certified by the American Red Cross or American Heart Association as an instructor

Recommended Experience

Most teaching positions, as described above, require at least 3 years experience in the massage therapy field.  Some also require an additional 20 hours of teaching education, and a few require specific experience teaching.

Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers

Continuing education requirements are not specifically spelled out for instructors, but massage licensure requires a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education every two years.  Most teaching positions require a massage license, so this requirement would be valid to teach most classes at a registered massage school.

Insurance Requirements

The state of  Mississippi does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance.  Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it is not required.

Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).  AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.

Fees

To become a massage therapy school instructor, an individual must pay $50 for an instructors license, in addition to any other requirements for their particular teaching position.  Most positions require a massage license, which costs $200 every two years.

Relevant Links

Massage Instructor Applications

Massage Instructor Renewal Applications

Mississippi Massage Therapy Board

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

Posted in Massage Instructor Requirements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

A Must Have iPhone App for All Massage Therapists
Massage Trigger Points App on iTunes
Massage School Topics

Top 10 Massage Career Tips

Learn exactly what you need to do to expedite your career success as a Massage Therapist.

Get your first tip NOW by entering your email address below.

More tips will follow weekly!