Requirements to Teach Massage in Nevada

The state of Nevada licenses massage therapists, and requires that they go through 500 hours of education at an approved massage school, pass the MBLEX national licensing exam as well as a background check.  They do not have additional certification requirements in order to teach massage therapy at a massage therapy school.

Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors

Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses are required to have a massage license, which requires 500 hours of massage education and passing the MBLEX exam, as well as passing a background check.  The specific curriculum requirements during those 500 hours are not specified by the state, but schools must receive state approval before operation.

Recommended Experience

There are no explicit requirements beyond a license for massage therapy teachers.  Most states require at least 2 years of experience in the field before teaching massage therapy, and applicants for massage therapy teaching positions should expect that hiring institutions would prefer at least 2 years experience to consider a candidate.

Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers

Continuing education requirements are not specifically spelled out for instructors, but massage licensure requires a minimum of 12 continuing education hours every 2 years.

Insurance Requirements

The state of Nevada does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance.  Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it is not required.

Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).  AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.

Fees

There are no specific fees associated with becoming an massage therapy school instructor, other than the license fee to practice massage in Nevada if a teacher is teaching massage theory.  An initial two year license costs $380, which includes a $5 application request form, $100 application fee, $150 license fee and a $125 background check fee.

It is important to note that the state of Nevada has an exceptionally long application process, and though their application is simple, they will require 3-5 months to review a candidates application and grant a license.

Relevant Links

Nevada Massage Statute 640C

Nevada Regulations for Private Educational Institutions

Nevada State Board: Massage Regulations

Nevada State Board: How to Become Licensed in Nevada

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

Posted in Massage Instructor Requirements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

A Must Have iPhone App for All Massage Therapists
Massage Trigger Points App on iTunes
Massage School Topics

Top 10 Massage Career Tips

Learn exactly what you need to do to expedite your career success as a Massage Therapist.

Get your first tip NOW by entering your email address below.

More tips will follow weekly!