How to Run a Massage Therapy School in Iowa, the requirements for massage therapy practice and education are overseen by the Board of Massage Therapy, under the Iowa Department of Public Health.
So if you want to start a massage school in Iowa, massage therapy laws and also, rules require students to have completed a 600 hour program that is approved by the Board of Massage Therapy.
Obtaining Approval from the Board of Massage Therapy
To obtain approval of your program, you will need to send in an application to the Board.
In the application, you will need to provide
- School name, address and contact information;
- Verification that your school has at least 600 contact hours;
- Verification that no more than 120 hours are student clinic hours;
- And also, verification that you only accept students who have a high school diploma or equivalent;
- A description of your curriculum delivery methods – hands-on, lectures, etc.;
- Verification that your students are required to have 200 hours of training, 100 in anatomy and physiology, prior to working on the public;
- List all courses in your curriculum, along with hours and content – you must provide training in
- Fundamentals of massage therapy;
- Clinical applications of massage and bodywork therapies;
- Client communication theory and practice;
- Healthcare referral theory and practice;
- Anatomy and physiology;
- Pathology and also, skills in infection control, injury prevention and sanitation;
- Iowa law and ethics;
- Business management, including legal and also, financial aspects, documentation and record maintenance;
- Wellness and healthy lifestyle theory and practice in such areas as hydrotherapy, hot and cold applications, spa techniques, nutrition, herbal studies, wellness models, somatic movement and energy work;
- You may also include other massage-related studies.
- Documentation including
- School curriculum including
- A class schedule with hours for each subject taught;
- Sample diploma;
- Sample transcript.
So your application and the $120 application fee must submit to the Iowa Board of Massage Therapy at the Iowa Department of Public Health.
Curriculum approval from the board is good for up to two years and must renew before July 1 of even-numbered years.
So if your curriculum is approved within 6 months of a renewal date, you won’t have to renew until the next renewal cycle.
If you want to open a private massage therapy school in Iowa and also, how to Run a Massage Therapy School in Iowa.
So you must obtain approval for your school curriculum from the Iowa Board of Higher Education and have a program of at least 600 hours of instruction.
The application fee for approval is $120, and approval must renew every 2 years.