Mississippi Massage Therapy Schools & Requirements, so the state of Mississippi is a beautiful place to own and operate your personal massage therapy business.
So Here, the competition is minimal in comparison to other states in America.
Here only 1,700 individuals are credentialed and are practising as massage therapists, leaving the competition wide open for you to take the industry by storm.
In this article, you will find all of the necessary information to provide you with an edge on all of the other aspiring massage therapists.
Good luck and enjoy the journey!
Scroll straight to the bottom to see a list of the top massage therapy schools in Mississippi.
Brief Summary of the Main Highlights
So the state of Mississippi has certain rules and regulations that you as an aspiring massage therapist must follow prior to becoming certified and licensed.
However, in this article, you will find some helpful information and instructions that will help to make the licensure and massage therapy certification process in Mississippi a bit more attainable.
By taking all of the required education hours, applying and submitting all of the required documents you will be well on your way towards becoming a successful massage therapist in Mississippi.
Schooling Details and Requirements (Credit Hours)
The massage school or program that you choose to take must be approved by the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy.
Mississippi State requires you to take and complete at least 700 hours of supervised, in-class coursework.
A rule passed by legislation in the state of Mississippi is that of Rule 915(A), which states that if you miss more than 10% of any class for any reason (excused or unexcused), the course must be repeated.
So the Board feels that it is crucial for you to be present and participative to receive the best education and to become a well-trained and educated massage therapist.
Aside from your education program, you must also take the required Mississippi State Examinations.
To begin, if you are applying for the examination, then an application must be filled out and submitted.
You can find this application by following this link provided.
Because if you are re-taking any of the examinations listed on the application, then you must contact the school you received your massage therapy education from and have them issue you an “Authority to Sit” in the exam.
Mississippi Massage Therapy
All fees must be paid by either cashier’s check or money order to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy.
The following exams are listed on the application and must be taken prior to licensure:
- The Mississippi State Pre-Licensing Examination (MSPLE) – This exam costs $150. If you are out-of-state or have completed reciprocity then in order to sit for this exam, you must receive prior approval by the Board.
- The Mississippi State Law Examination (MSLE) – This exam will cost you $100
After you have successfully applied and also, been approved to sit for the above exams, you must choose a date and location for each.
Here is a link that you can follow to find the dates of these specific examinations.
In addition to the above-mentioned state examinations, the state of Mississippi also requires you to take and pass the NCETMB, National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.
Licensure Qualifying Programs
The following is a list of the approved schools as mentioned on the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy School webpage.
Through some research, we found that some of the listed schools on the Board’s website do not exist anymore or are not providing massage therapy licensure programs at this time.
So the listed schools are actual working programs in the state of Mississippi.
Please use the following information to contact and research the best school for your education towards becoming a successful massage therapist in the state of Mississippi.
2323 Lakeland Drive
Jackson, MS 39232
1500 North 31st Avenue
Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Blue Cliff College
12251 Bernard Parkway
Gulfport, MS 39503
Healing Touch Career College
4700 Hardy Street, Suite H-1
Hattiesburg, MS 39402
5360 I-55 North, Suite 150
Jackson, MS 39211
Southwest MS Community College
2000 College Drive
Summit, MS 39666
Virginia College of Jackson
North Jackson, MS 39206
Waldrip Center for Therapeutic Massage
3018 Cliff Gookin Blvd. Suite 3
Tupelo, MS 38801
Concorde Career College
7900 Airways Blvd. Suite 103
Southaven, MS 38671
Applying for your massage therapy license requires that you submit a certain list of documents before the Board will approve you.
To begin, be sure to read over and understand the instructions for the massage licensure application linked here.
Once you have completed the application, please submit it to the Board at the following address:
Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy
P.O. Box 20
Morton, MS 39117
The following is a list of requirements and documents you must submit along with your application:
- Complete and notarize the Application for Professional Licensure.
- Possess and prove that you hold a High School diploma or a GED equivalent.
- Show proof of HIV/AIDS awareness training – this must be included on an official transcript.
- Hold a current CPR and First Aid card – as a side note, online certification is not accepted.
- You must actually be present and take a physics course for certification to be approved and accepted by the Board.
- Submit two 2”x2” passport size photographs of yourself.
- These photographs must be dated and signed on the front.
- Proof of successful completion of all state and national (or international) accredited examinations approved by the Board.
- An official transcript sent from the school or program in which you received your massage therapy education.
- Because this must send to the Board and include a minimum of 700 hours.
- A total of 8 hours of CPR and First Aid training must also accompany this, as well as HIV/AIDS training and prevention coursework.
- Clear a Mississippi Criminal History Check and FBI fingerprint background check.
- If this background check comes back negative, then you must notify the court of jurisdiction and have them provide documentation of all court orders that are to be sent to the Board.
- Submit a certified check or money order made payable to MSBMT (Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy for all applicable fees.
- All fees are nonrefundable:
- $50 for an initial application fee
- $200 for a 2-year license fee
- $25 for additional location certificate
- $30 Provisional Permit Fee
Key Agencies/Boards involved and their contact information
The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy is the governing agency for the massage industry in the state of Mississippi.
Because it was created by the legislature to promote high standards of professionalism for all licensed massage therapists and make sure that the quality of care is safe and also, excellent across the board.
So if you would like to contact the Board for any questions or concerns regarding your licensure, be sure to visit their website linked here, or you can contact them by using the following information below:
Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy P.O. Box 20 Morton, MS 39117 Phone: 601-732-6038 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Requirements to Start a Massage Business in Mississippi (Massage Establishment License)
Starting and owning a massage business in the state of Mississippi is an exciting and exhilarating process.
Mississippi has a website dedicated first and foremost to business owners in the state, the link to this webpage has been provided to you here.
So you will require taking the following actions:
- Choose which business formation you would like to operate as – Sole Proprietor, Partnership, Corporation, LLC, or other.
- Apply for state tax ID – this will depend on what entity you decide to form under.
- Name your business.
- Decide what location you would like to start your business in.
Massage License Renewal Process
To meet the requirements each year for renewal, you will require to submit a renewal application along with the necessary documents and renewal fee.
In addition, continuing education hours are required and must approve by the Board prior to renewal of your massage therapy license.
Below is a list of the renewal process, as well as the continuing education requirements and guidelines.
The Massage License Renewal Process:
- If you would like to renew your license online, it may only be accessed from October 1st to December 31st of each year.
- Otherwise, you are required to submit a physical and tangible paper application.
- To be eligible for renewal, you must meet the following criteria set by the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy:
- Have no name changes to your name.
- Have at least 24 hours of continuing education credits.
- This must include 3 hours of Law and Rules & Regulations, as well as 3 hours of Ethics.
- You must submit verification of your current CPR/First Aid certification within 5 days of applying for renewal
- Scan the CPR and First Aid cards and email them to email@example.com or,
- Fax a copy of the cards to 601-732-6447 or
Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy
- Mail a copy of the cads to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy office at:
- P.O. Box 20
Morton, MS 39117
- Pay a $35 renewal fee.
- So if you choose to take the online renewal process, then you must satisfy the following:
- Have no name changes – this includes your legal name, as well as your business name.
- If you have had any previous name changes you must document them and a physical paper renewal will be required.
- To submit a name change request, you must submit a copy of the document that legally shows the new name change.
- This can be sent to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy at:
- P.O. Box 20
Morton, MS 39117
- There have been no changes to a previously approved program, such as continuing education course.
- And also, you have not had the approval of your organization or any denial by the NCBTMB.
- You may use the online renewal process to renew your already approved license.
- However, if any programs you have taken have not been approved then you are not able to utilize the online renewal process
- You must pay with an approved credit or debit card and cover all renewal fees at the time of renewal online.
- So if you choose to file a paper application, you can follow this link to access the downloadable application.
As a rule, set by the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy, it is against the law to operate and work as a massage therapist with an expired or non-existent massage license.
And also, a list of the approved providers for continuing education courses can be found by visiting the website linked here.
So if a course that you would like to take is not listed on the approved list, you may submit a “Continuing Education Provider Approval Application” to the Board requesting approval of a certain course.
Massage License Reciprocity
For reciprocity, the state of Mississippi requires that if a student transfers from out of state to this region, then he or she must meet certain education requirements.
So if you happen to have a quarter or semester hours already, then the multiplier of education in relation to Mississippi’s is as follows:
- Quarter Hours: You can multiply these quarter hours by 10.5 to obtain credit hours.
- Semester Hours: You can multiply these semester hours by 15 to obtain the correct amount of credit hours.
Additionally, for reciprocity you must submit the following to the Board:
- An official out-of-state school transcript,
- Demonstrate proof of 3 years working as a massage therapist in the state you were or are licensed,
- Provide proof of passing scores from a state, national or international examination.
- This exam must be one approved by the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy.
Because it is important to realize and understand that a minimum of 500 hours is required before reciprocity will consider.
However, it is advisable to contact the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy to ask any questions that you may have regarding your reciprocity.
So you can contact the director by calling 601-732-6038.
Note: Specific personal information, office addresses, fees, payments etc.
May change over time.
Although we do our best to keep this site up to date, please ensure you contact the state board to obtain the most recent information at the time of your application.
Here is a list of the top massage therapy schools near you.
And also, we have an arrangement with all of them that allow you to request information for FREE.
Please do so and take that first step toward a better future.
At American Institute, we believe you can become whatever you want to be, and we’re ready to help you get there. We pride ourselves on working hard to deliver quality, innovative education to our students that gives them the skills to begin or enhance their careers. We try to help our students meet their goals of changing or enhancing their careers, and also help prospective employers of our graduates in meeting the workforce needs of the 21st century while actively participating in the communities we operate within.
- Massage Therapy
Get hands-on training with South Texas Vocational Technical Institute. We offer a number of diploma programs in the skilled trades and health and wellness fields at our campuses in Weslaco, Corpus Christi, McAllen, San Antonio, and Brownsville, Texas.
- Professional Massage Therapy
Since 1977, Keiser University has maintained a practical, hands-on approach to career-focused education to help our students achieve their personal and professional goals. Our student-centered approach remains at the foundation of the Keiser University mission and continues to attract students who prefer a more personal learning experience.
- Associate of Science in Massage Therapy
Back to School Scholarship Available to All New Students Until October 22nd.
Since 1996, Southern California Health Institute has been dedicated and committed to helping students achieve their dreams by providing an exceptional education that enables them to become skilled and successful manual therapists. We have graduated over 1,500 students who are now a part of a larger community of wellness and healthcare.
- Advanced Professional Massage Therapy Program
- Physical Therapy Aide/Sports Rehab Program
Pursue your education with Platt College (Oklahoma). We offer hands-on training programs in the culinary arts, allied health, and nursing fields.
*Programs vary by location.
*High school diploma or GED required.
*Licensed by OBPVS.
- Massage Therapy
- Massage Therapy
Take your career to the next step with IntelliTec College. We offer programs for careers in the business, computer, healthcare, beauty & personal appearance, technical trades and exercise & wellness fields at our three campuses in Colorado Springs, Pueblo, and Grand Junction, Colorado.
- Massage Therapy
We keep education relevant by employing instructors with real-world experience in the field, who bring their career backgrounds to the classroom. Our programs are continually assessed by faculty, staff and members of the business and education communities to help ensure your studies align with your career goals. Programs offered by Brightwood College focus on local employment needs, in areas such as allied health, nursing and technical and professional programs.
- Massage Therapy
As a student at Southeastern College, you will gain the training, skills, and knowledge you need to prepare for a rewarding career.
- Massage Therapy/Terapia de Masaje
- Diploma in Professional Clinical Massage Therapy
Are you un-employed, under-employed or looking for a stable career where you can make a real difference? Well then, you have come to the right place.
At locally-owned and nationally accredited IBMC College, you can train for a rewarding, new career, all in as little as 6-23 months! With nearly 20 program options to choose from, at nearby campuses, you will find the path that is just the right fit for you.
- Diploma-Therapeutic Massage