Massage School Requirements in Alaska

At the start of 2014 there were only 553 registered massage therapists in the state of Alaska, making the opportunity potential for you to start your massage business here great. Why should you continue waiting to answer the call of the wild? 

Alaska has so many reasons for settling and pursuing your massage therapy career.  Wake up every morning surrounded by the beauty, nature and rich culture that tourists and locals of all kinds enjoy year-round.  What a wonderful place to be! Furthermore, all of the municipalities recognize out of state training, making the transition to Alaska an easy one.  To find out more about how you can become a licensed and practicing massage therapist in Alaska, continue reading.

Please note: The state of Alaska does not have any licensing requirements, however, the individual municipalities do. Please continue reading for additional information regarding specific requirements.

Scroll straight to the bottom to see a list of the top massage therapy schools in Alaska.

Brief Summary of the Main Highlights

In the state of Alaska, massage therapy licensing is not required as a state law.  However, as mentioned previously, individual cities and municipalities do have their own laws and regulations regarding this particular industry.  Depending upon which city you choose to settle down into, be sure that you understand what is expected of you in order to operate and own your own massage therapy business or practice.

Anchorage

If Anchorage is the place where you would like to practice massage therapy, then you must be at least 18 years old and have successfully completed and graduated from an accredited massage therapy school.  Additionally, the state of Alaska requires that you obtain a business license and undergo a complete background check through the State of Alaska Department of Public Safety.  You can access the Department of Public Safety by visiting them at 5700 E. Tudor Rd, 2nd Floor in Anchorage.  For the background check, you must have two forms of I.D.  For additional information regarding the background check, please feel free to call the Department of Public Safety at 907-269-5511.

City of Fairbanks

For the City of Fairbanks, in order for you to pursue and obtain your massage therapy license, you must also be at least 18 years old, not a user of narcotics and of good character.  To receive your license, you must meet at least two of the following five minimum requirements:

  • Complete at least 350 hours at a state approved massage training school or program
  • Hold a current professional class membership in a recognized national massage organization
  • Hold a current certification by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, or a similar organization
  • Have been licensed out of state within the past three years of application
  • Have had two years experience within the last five years prior to application

Along with your application to the city of Fairbanks, you must also submit copies of any and all related certifications, your drivers’ license, an Alaska Business License and your Alaska criminal background report findings.  Additionally, you must provide 5 years of criminal history.  The city of Fairbanks does not tolerate any misconduct convictions.  If you have been convicted of any dishonesty or misconduct, your application could be cancelled without further consideration.

City of Valdez

The City of Valdez is no different in that you must be at least 18 years old and have successfully completed a post-secondary education school of massage therapy.  Here, you must also pass a background check and be of good moral character.

Schooling Details and Requirements (Credit Hours)

Each city in the state of Alaska has created its own schooling and other requirements for every massage therapist to follow.  You may choose which municipality that you would like to work in.  Be aware that there are different rules and requirements for each city.  Continue reading for the full requirements you must receive.

Anchorage

In Anchorage, you must satisfy at least one of the following requirements:

  • At least 500 hours of supervised instruction from a post-secondary education school of massage therapy in any state.
  • Hold a current valid certification from a national board or program of a standard similar to those needed for physical therapists.

City of Fairbanks

There are five possible requirements for obtaining a massage therapy license in the city of Fairbanks. You must meet at least two of the following:

  • Complete 350 hours of education from a state approved program.
  • Hold a valid professional class membership from a recognized national massage organization.
  • Hold a valid certification from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, NCBTMB, or a similar organization.
  • Have obtained an out of state license within three years of application.
  • Have had at least two years of experience within five years of application.

City of Valdez

For the City of Valdez, you must satisfy at least one of the following requirements:

  • At least 500 hours of supervised instruction from a post-secondary education school of massage therapy in any state.
  • Hold a current valid license from another state or city with requirements comparable to those of the City of Valdez.

In addition to the above, Alaska is one of several states that require therapists to be certified in CPR.

Licensure Qualifying Programs:

There are four accredited and approved massage schools in the state of Alaska.  Below is the list and contact information for each:

Kindred Spirits School of Massage

3175 College Rd.

Fairbanks, AK 99709

Email: myoosteo@yahoo.com

 

Oriental Healing Arts Center

2636 Spenard Rd.

Anchorage, AK 99503

 

Career Academy

1415 E. Tudor Rd.

Anchorage, AK 99507

 

CB Healing Institute

101 E. 9th Ave., #13B

Anchorage, AK 99501

Email: info@CBHealingInstitute.com

Licensing/Certification Requirements

Anchorage

To obtain a one-year massage therapy license in Anchorage, valid from October 1st, you must first submit a completed and notarized application along with a $100 fee to the Municipal Clerk.  Also submit a full Criminal Justice Information Report issued by the Alaska Criminal History Record Repository, Department of Public Safety to the Municipal Clerk as well.  To contact the Department of Public Safety, refer to the following information below:

The Department of Public Safety

ATTN: Municipal Clerk

350 Main Street, Room 404

PO Box 110601

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0601

Phone: (907) 465-3030

Fax: (907) 465-3068

 

City of Fairbanks

If you have fulfilled all of the minimum requirements set by the City of Fairbanks, then you must submit a completed and notarized application, copies of required certificates, driver’s license, Alaska Business License and 5 years of criminal history from each state of residency. The Alaska Criminal Background report must be dated the same as the date of application. The fee for submitting your massage therapy application to the City of Fairbanks is $100, and $200 for a two-year license fee.  All of these documents must be sent or faxed to the City of Fairbanks Clerk’s Office.  The following is the information that you will need to consider:

City of Fairbanks

City Clerk’s Office

800 Cushman Street

Fairbanks, AK 99701-4615

Phone: 907-459-6715

Fax: 907-459-6710

Email: mailto:cityclerk@ci.fairbanks.ak.us

 

City of Valdez

To obtain a license in the City of Valdese, you must submit a completed and notarized application along with the $50 non-refundable license fee and copies of certificates, a copy of a current City of Valdez Business Registration and a current State of Alaska Business License.

Key Agencies / Boards involved and their contact information

There are several organizations and boards that operate in the state of Alaska to help oversee and regulate the massage therapy industry.  Below is a list of the contact information for these organizations that work together to provide you as the practitioner a pleasant environment to work.

Anchorage

Licensing Authority: OFFICE OF THE MUNICIPAL CLERK
P.O. Box 196650 (632 W. 6th Ave., Ste 250)
Anchorage, Alaska 99519-6650

For further information please check http://www.muni.org/Departments/Assembly/Clerk/Licensing/Pages/Massage.aspx

City of Fairbanks

City Clerk’s Office
800 Cushman Street
Fairbanks, AK 99701-4615
phone: (907) 459-6715
fax: (907) 459-6710
e-mail: cityclerk@ci.fairbanks.ak.us

For the most up-to-date information, you can follow the link provided here.

City Of Valdez, Alaska 

Office Of The City Clerk
P.O. Box 307
Valdez, Alaska

Requirements to Start a Massage Business in Alaska

By starting and operating your own massage business in the state of Alaska, you are basically pursuing the American dream and rewarding yourself as a professional in this particular industry.  The state of Alaska has compiled an e-book for you to reference as you pursue your dreams to start and open a massage business in Alaska.

You are advised to take advantage of the agencies, programs and people in Alaska that will help to further launch your endeavor to success.  In this e-book you will find how to start your business in the state of Alaska, how to file required documents, licenses and regulation requirements as well as tax and financial programs.  If you would like to utilize this publication, you can visit the website by following this link.

In the state of Alaska, a business license is required for you to operate and engage in any business type activity.  To obtain such a license, you must apply and fill out the appropriate forms to the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development.  The licensing statutes and regulations regarding business licensing can be found by following this link to the handbook.

The fee for a business license is $50 each year (which includes all or part of the initial year in which you receive the license).  This fee is non-refundable once you have been issued your business license.

Please be aware that the state of Alaska defines a Sole Proprietor as ONE individual owning a business.  This is different from the IRS definition, which allows husband and wife couples to file taxes as a Sole Proprietor.  To obtain your business license, contact the following organization for the application and additional information regarding your massage business:

The State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

ATTN: Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing

550 West Seventh Avenue

Suite 1500

Anchorage, AK 99501-3567

Phone: 907-269-8160

Fax: 907-269-8156

Email: businesslicense@alaska.gov

Massage License Renewal Process

The state of Alaska does not require you to obtain a massage therapy license; however, it does require you to obtain a business license in order to operate and run a business in either city or municipality of your choice.  Additionally, there are several municipalities that hold their own rules and regulations regarding massage therapy licensing renewals.

The following is the information you will need in regards to renewing your business license.

If you have a business license in the state of Alaska, and it has expired less than two years, you may renew and pay for the lapsed year(s).  You may either renew by visiting the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development website, or submit a hardcopy.  The following is the information regarding these two different methods of submission:

  • Online Submission of Renewal: If it has been 9 months or less since your business license has expired, then you can renew your license online and then print you business license immediately thereafter.
  • Hardcopy: Again, if it has been 9 months or less than two years since your business license has expired, then you must renew by a hardcopy.  This normally will take about 10 to 15 business days for complete processing.  However, be aware that if you submit your renewal application during the business license renewal time period, which is October to February, then the processing time may take a little bit longer.

Below is some additional information regarding the different municipalities in Alaska:

Anchorage

A new one year license costs $100. You must pay this renewal fee on or before October 1st. The timing for the application process is otherwise the same as for a new license.

City of Fairbanks

A new two-year license costs $200 in the City of Fairbanks; the application process is otherwise the same as for a new license.

City of Valdez

It is possible to renew your massage therapy license every 2 years for a $25 renewal fee.

Massage License Reciprocity

All of the municipalities acknowledge training obtained in other states in some form.  You may check the Licensing and Certification Requirements above and have all of the relevant certificates and diplomas ready as proof.

Note: Specific personnel information, office addresses, fees, payments etc. may change over time. Although we do our best to keep this site up to date, please ensure you contact the state board to obtain the most recent information at the time of your application.  

Here is a list of the top massage therapy schools near you. We have an arrangement with all of them that allow you to request information for FREE. Please do so and take that first step toward a better future.

Matching School Ads
  • Gain Knowledge and Skills While You Earn Your Nursing Degree at Fortis!

Programs:

  • Massage Therapy
  • Massage Therapist
Locations:  Grand Prairie

Recognized by the U.S. News and World Report for: Best Online Programs, Bachelor’s 2017, Best Online Programs, Grad Education 2017 and Best Online Programs, Bachelor’s for Veterans 2017

Programs:

  • Rehabilitation Sciences (Master of Science) - Online
  • Rehabilitation Sciences (Certificate) - Online
  • Designated a 2015 Military Friendly School by Victory Media for the 4th consecutive year.
  • Listed on the President’s Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll in 2013, for the sixth consecutive year
  • Links students to hundreds of training opportunities (beyond their traditional internships and practicum) at their many “partner agencies” in each of their local communities.
  • Accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WUSCUC).

Programs:

  • M.A. Clinical Mental Health Counseling
  • Work in the fascinating and rewarding field of psychology - earn your bachelor's or master's degree online with Grand Canyon University.
  • The College of Humanities and Social Sciences promotes research, creativity, ethical formation and inquiry through critical, analytical and interdisciplinary study.
  • GCU's bachelor's and master's in psychology degrees combine academic theory with practical application.
  • Gain a comprehensive study of human behavior within a Christian values-oriented environment designed to emphasize compassion and ethics.
  • Join a values-based community surrounded by compassion, ethics and research on human behavior.

Programs:

  • B.S. in Behavioral Health Science - Trauma
  • • Liberty University’s online programs ranked in the top 10 out of more than 2,100 colleges & universities for academic quality, affordability, and accessibility.*
  • 100% online programs at associate, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral level.**
  • Transfer up to 90 credits into an undergraduate degree program.
  • Up to 50% of your master’s degree can be transferred in to help you get the most out of your hard work and maximize the credit you previously earned.
  • *BestColleges.com Gold Medal of Distinction
  • **excludes licensure, certification, and some doctoral programs

Programs:

  • Doctor of Education: Community Care & Counseling: Marriage & Family
  • Doctor of Philosophy: Counselor Education and Supervision
  • MA in Professional Counseling - 60 Hour
  • And more...

WELCOME TO KAPLAN UNIVERSITY

Online Education That Fits Your Life

For 80 years, we’ve been preparing students for career success. We’ve led the wayso that our students can too.

Globally Renowned Purdue to Acquire Kaplan University

Purdue University, one of the nation's most respected universities, will acquire Kaplan University and create a new, nonprofit, public institution within the Purdue system. Pending regulatory approvals, this exciting transition is expected to take place later this year. This change will be seamless—during the transition, you will still be able to enroll at Kaplan University, earn a high-quality education, and meet your educational and career goals.

Programs:

  • MS in Psychology - Addictions

Earn your graduate degree online with Northcentral University.  We offer online programs focused on doctoral and master’s degrees in the schools of business and technology management, education, psychology and marriage and family sciences.

Earn your graduate degree online with Northcentral University.  We offer online programs focused on doctoral and master’s degrees in the schools of business and technology management, education, psychology and marriage and family sciences.

The field of technology is rapidly evolving to meet the growing demands of modern society. For those seeking a future in tech, this means maintaining skills, increasingknowledge and quickly adapting to change. For today’s students, however, successwill require dedication, commitment and access to education specifically designedto meet the demands of this dynamic industry.


Programs:

  • Health Psychology - PhD of Psychology
  • Master of Science in Health Psychology
Launch your education at Wake Forest University, committed to educating the whole person since 1834. Pursue your degree and enjoy a student/faculty ratio of 11:1.

Programs:

  • Master of Arts in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health

Regent University prepares students with the knowledge to excel and the faith to live with purpose. Our 20,000 alumni, from more than 110 countries, are changing the world as accomplished professionals. Named a top-15 school nationally for online bachelor's programs (U.S. News & World Report, 2015), Regent is among the most affordable undergraduate Christian colleges (CCCU 2015). Fully accredited, challenging programs are available online and on campus. New classes begin every eight weeks.

Programs:

  • Certificate in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
  • Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Pursue your education at Ohio Christian University. Take classes online or on campus. Pursue your degree to help you start the career you want. Learn more now.

Programs:

  • Bachelor of Arts in Substance Abuse Counseling

Link to video lesson.

Read how to become a massage school instructor in Alaska here.

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

Posted in Certification, Massage Therapy Schools, State by State Requirements
4 comments on “Massage School Requirements in Alaska
  1. charles f schultz says:

    I have a certification in massage therapy from NJ. Do I need to be certified in alaska ti practice in the Homer area?

  2. Rita says:

    Do I need a licence if it is only a light rub and not a massage?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

A Must Have iPhone App for All Massage Therapists
Massage Trigger Points App on iTunes
Massage School Topics

Top 10 Massage Career Tips

Learn exactly what you need to do to expedite your career success as a Massage Therapist.

Get your first tip NOW by entering your email address below.

More tips will follow weekly!