Becoming a Massage Therapy School Teacher in Utah

The state of Utah is unique in that it has two different licensing paths for massage therapists.  School based programs require at least 600 hours of instruction, while apprentice based programs require at least 1000 hours of instruction.

Instructors in each type of program must be licensed in the state of Utah, and instructors for apprentices have additional requirements such as they can only take on a maximum of 2 apprentices at a time and apprentice instructors must have a minimum of 6,000 hours of documented massage experience after their own licensure.

Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors

Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses are required to have a massage license, which requires either 600 hours if achieved through a  school based program, or 1000 hours if achieved through an apprentice based program.  The requirements for each program are as follows:

600 hour school based program:

  • 125 hours of anatomy, physiology, kinesiology
  • 40 hours of pathology
  • 15 hours sanitation, CPR and first aid
  • 285 hours massage theory and techniques
  • 35 hours business practices and ethics
  • 100 hours clinical coursework in student clinic

1000 hour apprentice program500

  • 300 hours in massage therapy services
  • 310 hours hands on instruction
  • 120 hours techniques
  • 50 hours massage theory
  • 40 hours business practices and ethics
  • 125 hours anatomy, physiology and kinesiology
  • 40 hours pathology
  • 15 hours sanitation, CPR and first aid

Additionally, the applicant must pass the MBLEX exam and a criminal background check.

Recommended Experience

Apprentice based instructors are required to have at least 6,000 hours of documented professional experience.  There are no posted requirements for school based instructors, but job postings generally require at least 4 years of experience.

Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers

Currently, Utah does not require continuing education for massage therapists.  HB351 in 2013 proposed 24 hours every 2 years, but did not pass.

Insurance Requirements

The state of Utah does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance.  Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it is not required.

Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).  AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.

Fees

There are no specific fees associated with becoming an massage therapy school instructor, other than the license fee to practice massage in Utah, which is $100 initially and $52 upon renewal every 2 years.

Relevant Links

Utah Massage Therapy Practice Act

Massage Therapist Apprentice License Application

Massage Therapist License Application

Utah Massage Therapy Code of Ethics

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

Posted in Massage Instructor Requirements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

A Must Have iPhone App for All Massage Therapists
Massage Trigger Points App on iTunes
Massage School Topics

Top 10 Massage Career Tips

Learn exactly what you need to do to expedite your career success as a Massage Therapist.

Get your first tip NOW by entering your email address below.

More tips will follow weekly!