Becoming a Massage Therapy School Instructor in Massachusetts

The state of Massachusetts requires that massage therapists receive a license in their field, and that license is required to teach massage therapy at a massage therapy school.  Post secondary institutions are required to do due diligence when hiring massage therapists for their educational programs, and ensure that they are qualified to instruct.

This involves filling out a instructor certification form from the division of professional licensure, which requires the instructor to submit a copy of their resume and professional license along with a list of courses they will teach.  Instructors for general courses, such as anatomy, are exempted from the licensing requirement, but they must demonstrate that they are qualified to teach and revived approval from the state.

Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors

Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses are required to have a massage license, which requires 650 hours of massage education.  Unlike most states, massage therapists are not required to pass an exam at the end of their 650 hours of education.  The curriculum required for licensure is as follows:

  • 300 Hours of Massage Theory and Technique
  • 100 Hours of Anatomy and Physiology
  • 100 Hours of Supervised Clinical Hands on Massage Experience
  • 60 Hours of Ethics and Professionalism
  • 45 Hours of Pathology
  • 45 Hours of Kinesiology

Recommended Experience

There are no explicit requirements beyond a license for massage therapy teachers.  Most states require at least 2 years of experience in the field before teaching massage therapy, and applicants for massage therapy teaching positions should expect that hiring institutions would prefer at least 2 years experience to consider a candidate.  Current job postings in the field require at least 2 years experience in the field, as well as an additional year of experience in teaching.

Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers

There are no continuing education requirements for massage therapists or massage therapy teachers.  As of 2016, continuing education requirements are in the works and may be adopted by the state in the near future.

Insurance Requirements

The state of Massachusetts requires that massage therapists carry at least 1 million dollars in liability insurance to maintain a license.   Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).  AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.

Fees

There are no specific fees associated with becoming an massage therapy school instructor, other than the license fee to practice massage in Massachusetts if a teacher is teaching massage theory.  Licenses are renewed annually for $150, and the required professional liability insurance can be acquired for as little as $199 annually.

Relevant Links

Massage Therapy Licensure Initial Application

Technical Education Instructor Certification Form

Massachusetts Laws Licensing Massage Therapists

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

Posted in Massage Instructor Requirements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

A Must Have iPhone App for All Massage Therapists
Massage Trigger Points App on iTunes
Massage School Topics

Top 10 Massage Career Tips

Learn exactly what you need to do to expedite your career success as a Massage Therapist.

Get your first tip NOW by entering your email address below.

More tips will follow weekly!