The state of Minnesota does not have state wide licensure requirements for massage therapists. Given that there are no state wide requirements to preform massage therapy, the education of massage therapists at massage schools is similarly unregulated by the state.
Some cities and municipalities may adopt their own certification requirements for the practice of massage therapy, but it is unlikely that they will adopt requirements for massage teachers in such an unregulated state.
Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors
Massage instructors teaching massage therapy in Minnesota have no formal requirements as required by the state. The minimum education requirements of states that do have requirements are 500 hours of formal massage education, with some states requiring as much as 1000 hours. It is advised that a therapist hoping to teach massage therapy has attended at least 500 hours of formal education.
There are no explicit experience requirements to teach massage therapy in Minnesota. Most states require or recommend at least 2 years experience, and candidates applying to teach at massage therapy schools should have at least 2 years experience to be competitive in the application process.
Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers
Given that there are no licensure requirements in the state, there are also no continuing education requirements.
The state of Minnesota does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance. Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it is not required.
Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals). AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.
There are no specific fees associated with becoming an massage therapy school instructor in Minnesota, but professional liability insurance, which can be purchased for as little as $199 per year, is strongly recommended.