Requirements to Become a Massage School Teacher in Georgia

The state of Georgia requires that all massage therapy instructors have a massage therapy license and at least 2 years or 2000 hours of professional experience before beginning their career as an instructor at an approved Georgia massage therapy school.

Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors

Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses are required to have a massage license, which requires 500 hours of massage education, a background check and passing the MBLEX exam.

The 500 hours of education at an approved Georgia massage school are not specifically outlined, but should include:

Recommended Experience

The state of Georgia requires that massage therapy teachers have a minimum of 2 years or 2000 hours of professional experience before they begin teaching at an approved Georgia Massage Therapy School.

Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers

Continuing education requirements are not specifically spelled out for instructors, but massage licensure requires a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education every two years.

Insurance Requirements

The state of Georgia does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance.  Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it is not required.

Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).  AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.

Fees

There are no specific fees associated with becoming an massage therapy school instructor, other than the license fee to practice massage in Georgia if a teacher is teaching massage theory.  An initial 2 year license costs $125.  After that, licenses must be renewed every 2 years at a cost of $75, plus the cost of at least 24 hours of continuing education.

Relevant Links

Georgia Massage License Fee Schedule

Georgia Massage Professional Licensing Board Forms

Georgia Massage Background Check Consent Form

Georgia Massage Therapy Practice Laws

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

Posted in Massage Instructor Requirements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

A Must Have iPhone App for All Massage Therapists
Massage Trigger Points App on iTunes
Massage School Topics

Top 10 Massage Career Tips

Learn exactly what you need to do to expedite your career success as a Massage Therapist.

Get your first tip NOW by entering your email address below.

More tips will follow weekly!