Idaho introduced a massage licensure requirement beginning July 1st 2013 with Senate Bill 1295a. The initial licensure bill requires that all new prospective massage therapists complete their education at an approved post-secondary school, to be regulated by the state board of education.
Educational Requirements for Massage Teachers
There are no specific educational requirements established by the state of Idaho to teach Massage Therapy at a registered massage school. Clinic hours for students must be supervised by a licensed massage therapist, but the qualifications of a classroom teacher are left at the discretion of each individual massage school. The curriculum taught by a massage teacher at a licensure program is outlined below:
- 200 Hours in Massage & Bodywork Assessment, Application and Theory
- 125 Hours in Body Systems, Anatomy/Physiology and Kinesiology
- 40 Hours in Pathology
- 25 Hours in Professional Business and Ethics
- 110 Hours of Clinical Work
Due to the specialized nature of the curriculum, the majority of teaching is generally done by licensed massage therapists with work experience in massage therapy. However, some schools employ individuals that are not themselves licensed massage therapists for teaching specialty courses that have an overlap with another technical field.
For example, anatomy and physiology may be taught by a physical therapist, or specialized courses in oriental theory may be taught by an acupuncturist. As a general rule, the majority of the massage therapy teaching work is completed by individuals who are themselves licensed massage therapists.
There is no specific experience requirement for teaching massage therapy in Idaho. Similar licensed careers, such as cosmetology, require that teachers have at least 5 years of work experience, or complete 3-6 months of student teaching before being allowed to teach.
Most massage schools in Idaho that list experience for their current teachers advertise at least 5 years of experience for their current staff, though there are a few listing recent graduates as current instructors.
Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers
There are no specific continuing education requirements for massage teachers in Idaho. However, most instructors maintain an active Idaho Massage License, which requires 6 hours of continuing education every 12 months, beginning after the second license renewal.
Though not required by the state, most practicing therapists maintain professional liability insurance through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals). AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.
There are no explicit fees for teaching massage therapy, but maintaining an active Idaho massage license requires a $75 annual license renewal fee, in addition to paying for 6 hours of continuing education. Massage professional liability insurance ranges from $199 to $235 dollars annually, and is strongly recommended, though not required.