The state of Ohio has legal requirements for massage licensure, and all therapists practicing within the state must be licensed massage therapists. Their is no additional specific requirement for massage therapy teachers, other than that they hold a valid massage therapy license, which requires 750 hours of training at an accredited Ohio massage school.
Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors
Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses are required to have a massage license, which requires 750 hours of massage education and passing the MBLEX exam.
A massage license also requires passing a criminal background check. Curriculum hours within the required 750 include:
- 325 hours of anatomy, physiology and pathology
- 325 hours of massage theory and practice
- 25 hours of professional ethics, including sexual boundaries and chemical dependency issues
- 25 hours of business and law
- 50 hours of electives
There is no specific experience requirement to teach at an Ohio massage therapy school. In general, schools throughout the country require at least 2 years of professional experience, and it is expected that in order to be considered as a candidate, an applicant would need at least 2 years experience after initial licensure.
Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers
Continuing education is not currently required to maintain a massage license, but as of late 2016, Ohio House Bill 483 is proposing legislation requiring continuing education for massage therapy practitioners.
The state of Ohio does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance. Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it is not required.
Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals). AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.
There are no specific fees associated with becoming an massage therapy school instructor, other than the license fee to practice massage in Ohio. The initial 2 year license is $150, plus a $25 vendor license fee. Renewal is $50 every 2 years.
There will also be fees associated with continuing education courses, once continuing education is established as a requirement for massage licensure in the state of Ohio, which is expected some time in 2017.