How to Become a Massage Instructor in North Dakota

The state of North Dakota requires that all persons practicing massage therapy, including instructors at approved massage therapy schools, receive a massage therapy license.  Licensure requires 750 hours of education, as well as passing the national MBLEX massage examination.

Educational Requirements for Massage Instructors

Massage instructors teaching massage technique or theory courses are required to have a massage license, which requires 750 hours of massage education and passing the MBLEX exam.

The state of North Dakota specifies that the 750 hours of education include the following curriculum:

  • 150 hours of anatomy and physiology
  • 45 hours of pathology
  • 90 hours of kinesiology including muscular origin, insertion, action and relevant nerve connections
  • 10 hours of first aid, hygiene, and CPR
  • 30 hours of business practices
  • 30 hours of professional ethics
  • 300 hours of instruction in massage therapy theory and techniques
  • 95 hours in contraindications, universal precautions, body mechanics and ethics

Recommended Experience

There is no specific experience requirement for instructors at massage therapy schools, but most states and municipalities require at least 2 years of professional experience after receiving a licence before teaching massage therapy.

It is expected that reputable massage schools within North Dakota would require at least 2 years of professional experience.

Continuing Education Requirements for Teachers

Continuing education requirements are not specifically spelled out for instructors, but massage licensure requires a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years, and only 9 of those hours may be completed online or remotely as opposed to in person instruction.  Continuing education courses must be approved by the state, and teachers may apply for approval using this form.

Insurance Requirements

The state of North Dakota does not explicitly require its practitioners or teachers to carry professional liability insurance.  Given that insurance costs are relatively low, and risk can be potentially high, it is a good idea to carry insurance even though it is not required.

Liability insurance is available through a massage professional organization, such as AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) or ABMP (Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals).  AMTA’s professional membership explicitly includes insurance for massage professionals working as classroom teachers.

Fees

There are no specific fees associated with becoming an massage therapy school instructor, other than the license fee to practice massage in North Dakota.  An initial two year license costs $150, with a renewal fee of $100 every 2 years.

Relevant Links

North Dakota Board of Massage

North Dakota Massage Statute

North Dakota Massage Continuing Education Requirements

Continuing Education Approval Request Form

Neal Lyons is a founding member and volunteer contributor at the MTSI Institute, an information based portal dedicated to guiding and assisting aspiring massage therapists establish a successful career in massage. Neal is a published author and has collaborated on several mobile applications that serve the massage profession. You can view his published work on Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Sony and Kobo. You can connect with him on Facebook, Twitter and on Google+

Posted in Massage Instructor Requirements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

A Must Have iPhone App for All Massage Therapists
Massage Trigger Points App on iTunes
Massage School Topics

Top 10 Massage Career Tips

Learn exactly what you need to do to expedite your career success as a Massage Therapist.

Get your first tip NOW by entering your email address below.

More tips will follow weekly!